Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Father, Dear Father Collection

An inventory of its collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: (AM)
Date: 23 May 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Tobin, Don.
Title: Father, Dear Father Collection
Dates: circa 1941
Quantity: 2.5 linear ft. (39 items)
Abstract: Original artwork from the Disney short "The Nifty Nineties."
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Don Tobin was an American animator and cartoonist. Tobin worked for the Walt Disney Company as an animator, though he left after its strike in 1941. He is credited as an effects animator for the Disney short "The Nifty Nineties" (1941) on IMDB.com and in The Animated Film Encyclopedia: A Complete Guide to American Shorts, Features and Sequences (1900-1979).

"The Nifty Nineties" stars Mickey and Minnie Mouse, who take part in an old-time vaudeville themed short and venture to see a movie. The short before their film is "Father, Dear Father." A short-within-a-short, the "Father Dear Father" segment is a melodrama. Watch the short here.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Father, Dear Father Collection consists of original artwork from the Disney short "The Nifty Nineties." The collection includes 22 paper sketches and 17 painted animation stills, some of which are matted.


Arrangement of the Collection

All material from the collection is arranged by series and housed together.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Additional material from Don Tobin, including magazine cartoons and artwork from the comic strip The Little Woman are located in the Don Tobin Cartoons collection.

Special Collections Research Center has collections of more than 150 cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Walt Disney Company.

Associated Titles

Walt Disney classics.

Subjects

Mouse, Minnie (Fictitious character)
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Mouse, Mickey (Fictitious character)
Vaudeville.

Genres and Forms

Animated cartoons.
Animation drawings.
Cartoons (working drawings)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Father, Dear Father Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, circa 1969.


Table of Contents

Original artwork


Inventory

Original artwork
Father, Dear Father
Oversize 1 Animation stills circa 1941 - water color on illustration board (17 items)
Oversize 1 Sketches circa 1941 - pencil and marker on paper (22 items)