Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Clara Fasano Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: --
Date: Mar 1967

Revision history:
11 Apr 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Fasano, Clara, 1900-
Title: Clara Fasano Papers
Dates: 1952-1964
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American sculptor, born in Italy. Photographs of work, 1952-1954; published material including exhibition notices and articles by and about Fasano, 1952-1964; and a biographical sketch.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Clara Fasano (1900-1990) was an Italian-American sculptor, specializing in terra-cotta. Born in Castellaneta, Italy, she studied at the Cooper Union Art School, the Art Student's League and Adelphi College in New York City, and the Colorossi and Julian Academies in Paris. She also studied with Arturo Dazzi in Rome. Like many of her fellow artists of that era, she worked with the WPA/Federal Arts Project; she also taught art at the Dalton School in New York City and at Manhattanville College in Purchase, New York. She and her husband, sculptor Jean de Marco, lived in Greenwich Village, New York.

Over her career Ms Fasano won a prize from the National Association of Women Artists in 1945 and again in 1950, a medal from the Audubon Artists in 1952, a Medal of Honor in 1956, and the National Institute of Arts and Letters awarded her a prize in 1952. Her work has been exhibited at the Art Institute of Chicago, the National Academy of Design in New York City, the 1939 World's Fair in New York City, the Audubon Artists (annually), the National Sculpture Society in 1955, 1959, 1962 and 1964, the National Association of Women Artists, and in Italy, France, England and other major museums in the United States.

She was a member of the National Sculpture Society of New York City, the National Academy of Design, Audubon Artists and the National Association of Women Artists.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Clara Fasano Papers consists of biographical material, incoming correspondence, subject files, and published material.

Biographical material contains a biographical sketch of Ms. Fasano. Correspondence contains three incoming letters. Subject files consists of a notice of a meeting of the Art Educators Association of the City of New York, a photograph of Fasano at work and various photographic reproductions of her work. Published material includes an exhibition notice, magazine articles about and by Fasano with reproductions of her work and newspaper clippings about her work.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author. Subject files are arranged alphabetically by subject. Published material is arranged alphabetically by type and within that chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Jean de Marco Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Fasano, Clara, 1900- Archives.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Italian Americans.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture -- American.
Sculpture, American -- 20th century.
Women artists -- United States.
Women sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Clara Fasano Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift, 1964, 1968.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Subject files

Published material


Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming
Box 1 Roemnele 1964
Box 1 Theurer 1962
Box 1 Wood 1963
Subject files
Box 1 Meeting, "June Gala" undated
Box 1 Photo of undated
Photos of Work
Box 1 "At the Beach" undated
Box 1 "Dolce Far Niente" undated
Box 1 Hamlet" 1954
Box 1 "Happy Bride" undated
Box 1 "Mario Calling" undated
Box 1 "Neapolitan Tarantella" undated
Box 1 "Penelope" 1952
Box 1 "The Seeret" 1954
Box 1 "Siesta" undated
Box 1 "Spring" undated
Box 1 "Washday in the Village Piazza" undated
Box 1 "Woman from Cercaro" undated
Published material
Box 1 Exhibition notice 1954
Box 1 Magazine article, American Artist 1957
Magazine reproductions of work
Box 1 1960 Sculpture
Box 1 1961 Sculpture
Box 1 1962 Sculpture
Box 1 1962 National Sculpture Review
Box 1 1963 National Sculpture Review
Box 1 1963 Sculpture
Box 1 1963 National Sculpture Review
Box 1 1964 Sculpture
Box 1 undated Magazine article about her and others, The Centurion
Box 1 Newspaper clippings about her and others 1952, 1961, 1963-1964