Collection inventory


Finding Aids

David G. Farragut Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Farragut, David Glasgow, 1801-1870.
Title: David G. Farragut Correspondence
Dates: 1864-1870
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters of the United States admiral; also three photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

David G. Farragut (1801-1870) was an admiral of the United States Navy during the American Civil War. He was the first rear admiral, vice admiral, and full admiral of the Navy, and is best remembered for his order, "Damn the torpedoes, full speed ahead!" at the Battle of Mobile Bay.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The David G. Farragut Correspondence conains letters and three photographs. Letters relate to various matters, including a trip to Key West, Florida; the passage of some unidentified ladies from New Orleans to Switzerland; the assignment of a ship to deliver Confederate prisoners to New Orleans and then join the blockade of the Texas coast; the restoration of a subordinate officer to the "action list"; and the receipt of a report by the Belgian minister of war.

The three photographs, all portraits of Farragut, are undated. One appears to be an original, the other two are printed.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is in chronological order, followed by photographs.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Farragut, David Glasgow, 1801-1870.

Corporate Bodies

United States. -- Navy -- Officers.

Subjects

Admirals -- Biography.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Admirals.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

David G. Farragut Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 466 1864-1870 - also includes three photographs