Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Essay, "Concerning Africans in their own country..."

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 12 Jan 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Essay, "Concerning Africans in their own country..."
Dates: circa 1841
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Short essay by unknown author, comparing Africans in their native country, Africans in the United States, and Native Americans.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of the author of this brief document.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

Essay, "Concerning Africans in their own country..." is a short essay comparing the conditions of Africans in their native country, Africans in the United States, and Native Americans. Given the extensive overwriting and unrelated notes that appear on the pages, this may have been notes or a draft, or possibly an essay written for school.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Subjects

African Americans -- Attitudes.
African Americans -- Civil rights -- History -- 19th century.
Indians of North America -- Attitudes.
Indians of North America -- Civil rights -- History -- 19th century.
Indigenous peoples -- Africa -- Attitudes.
Slavery -- United States -- History.

Places

United States -- Race relations.

Genres and Forms

Essays.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Essay, "Concerning Africans in their own country...",
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown.


Table of Contents

Manuscripts


Inventory

Manuscripts
SC 723 Essay, "Concerning Africans in their own country..." circa 1841