Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Anna P. Ensign Diary

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 5 Oct 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ensign, Anna P.
Title: Anna P. Ensign Diary
Dates: 1866
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Pocket diary for 1866 owned by Anna P. Ensign (?) of Erieville, Madison Co., New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little is known of the author of this diary. Based on the inscription inside the front cover, she lived in Erieville, Madison County, New York. She was evidently young, as she writes of "going to school," and unmarried.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Anna P. Ensign Diary consists of a very small bound pocket diary, about 3 1/2" by 2", kept by Anna P. Ensign of Erieville, Madison County, New York. The writing is very small but legible. The entries are mostly concerned with Anna's day to day activities and with who came or went visiting. The following entries are typical:

July 18, 1866: Cora & I went to school. It was very warm and sultry in the forenoon but in the afternoon it rained dreadfully. Willie come down to school after Cora & I with a team. The teacher was calculating to come home with us but could not as her folks had company and she had to go home.
July 19, 1866: Colder & foggy. Cora & I went to school. Louisa Mae came over & sewed. It has not rained to day (!!!). I can play 3 tunes on Charley's accordion.

Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ensign, Anna P.

Subjects

Children -- United States -- Diaries.
Women -- New York (State) -- Diaries.

Places

Erieville (N.Y.) -- History.
Madison County (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Anna P. Ensign Diary,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2011.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 670 Diary 1866