Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Leonard Engel Papers

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 9 Nov 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Engel, Leonard, 1916-1964.
Title: Leonard Engel Papers
Dates: 1930-1964
Quantity: 68 linear ft.
Abstract: American journalist, aviation writer, editor and author. Collection includes correspondence, writings, subject files, personal files and audiotapes.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Leonard Engel (1916-1964) was an American journalist, aviation writer, editor and author. Much of his writing was in the fields of science and medicine.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Leonard Engel Papers consists of correspondence, writings, subject files, personal files and tapes.

Correspondence spans nearly thirty years, from 1936 to 1962. Writings include manuscripts, galleys, published items, book reviews, columns, press releases, radio broadcasts and scripts. Subject files range from Africa to whales. Personal files include awards, biographical material, photographs, clippings, and more. Tapes are recordings on various topics, most of them medical (cancer detection, medical genetics).


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence is arranged chronologically. All other series are arranged alphabetically by type or topic.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Engel, Leonard, 1916-1964.

Subjects

Authors, American.
Editors -- United States.
Science writers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Audiotapes.
Book reviews.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Galley proofs.
Manuscripts for publication.
Photographs.
Press releases.
Press releases.

Occupations

Authors.
Editors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Leonard Engel Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1967.


Table of Contents


Inventory

The inventory for this collection has not yet been converted to electronic format. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.