Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles Elmendorf Diary

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01

Revision history:
3 Jul 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Elmendorf, Charles L.
Title: Charles Elmendorf Diary
Dates: 1862-1865
Quantity: 234 pages in 1 volume
Abstract: Dentist in Penn Yan, New York. Holograph diary noting an ocean voyage to Central America and a stay in Nicaragua; also entries on the Civil War and social life of a resident of Penn Yan, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Elmendorf was a dentist in Penn Yan, New York, in the mid-nineteenth century.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Elmendorf Diary consists of a single volume covering the years 1862-1865. It records social life, news received of Civil War events, and an ocean voyage to Central America with a stay of some months duration in Nicaragua.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a considerable amount of material relating to the Civil War. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index under "U.S. Civil War" for a complete listing of manuscript collections, and search the Classic Catalog for items in the circulating collection and in Rare Books.


Subject Headings

Persons

Elmendorf, Charles L.

Subjects

Dentists -- New York (State)
Draft Riot, New York, N.Y., 1863.
Voyages and travels.

Places

New York (N.Y.) -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.
New York (State) -- Social life and customs -- 19th century.
Nicaragua -- Description and travel.
Penn Yan (N.Y.) -- History -- 19th century.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865.

Genres and Forms

Diaries.

Occupations

Dentists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Elmendorf Diary,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1968.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Volume 1 Diary 1862-1865