Collection inventory


Finding Aids

William H. Ellis Letters

An inventory of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 27 Oct 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ellis, William H., fl. 1835-1838.
Title: William H. Ellis Letters
Dates: 1835-1838
Quantity: 17 items (SC)
Abstract: Ellis was superintendent of lighthouses in Connecticut and New Hampshire. Letters from S. Pleasonton, 5th Auditor and Acting Commissioner of Revenue, Treasury Department, concerning building and repairing lighthouses, behavior of attendants, and appointments.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

William H. Ellis was the superintendent of lighthouses in Connecticut and New Hampshire during the first half of the 19th century.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The William H. Ellis Letters contain incoming correspondence from S. Pleasonton, 5th Auditor and Acting Commissioner of Revenue, Treasury Department. The correspondence concerns information on building and repairing lighthouses, the behavior of attendants, and appointments.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection contains one series, Correspondence, which is arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ellis, William H., fl. 1835-1838.
Pleasonton, S.

Subjects

Lighthouse keepers.
Lighthouses.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

William H. Ellis Letters
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
Incoming Correspondence
SC 243 07 Apr 1835
SC 243 11 Apr 1835
SC 243 07 May 1835
SC 243 30 Jul 1835
SC 243 31 Aug 1835
SC 243 23 Oct 1835
SC 243 19 Dec 1835
SC 243 13 Mar 1837
SC 243 24 Jun 1837
SC 243 11 Jul 1838
SC 243 01 Aug 1838
SC 243 02 Aug 1838
SC 243 09 Aug 1838
SC 243 15 Aug 1838
SC 243 05 Sep 1838
SC 243 23 Nov 1838