Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Havelock Ellis Letter

A description of his letter at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 29 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ellis, Havelock, 1859-1939.
Title: Havelock Ellis Letter
Dates: 1903
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A letter written by Ellis discussing dreams.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Havelock Ellis (1859-1939) was a British sexologist and social reformer, most famous for his multi-volume Studies in the Psychology of Sex. His frank and nonjudgmental discussions of sexual desire and practice shocked late Victorian audiences.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Havelock Ellis Letter was sent by Ellis in 14 Nov 1903 from Lelant, Cornwall to "W. Stead," possibly the British journalist William Thomas Stead. In the letter, Ellis discusses dreams and consciousness, mentioning that "I hope some day to publish a little book about dreaming, I think it gives the key to many abnormal phenomena." Eight years later he would do so, with the publication of his work, The World of Dreams.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center holds further Havelock Ellis correspondence in the Llewelyn Powys Letters.


Subject Headings

Persons

Ellis, Havelock, 1859-1939.
Stead, W. T. (William Thomas), 1849-1912.

Places

Lelant (England) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Sexologists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Havelock Ellis Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1966.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 420 1903