Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Albert Einstein Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: Dec 1966

Revision history:
16 Jul 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Einstein, Albert, 1879-1955.
Title: Albert Einstein Collection
Dates: 1947
Quantity: 2 items (SC).
Abstract: Papers of the physicist. Letter for Emergency Committee of Atomic Scientists, 1947; and 11 p. undated research paper, "On Rotationally Symmetric Stationary Gravitational Fields," in German.
Language: English, German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Albert Einstein (1879-1955) was a German-born theoretical physicist, best known for his theory of relativity and specifically the equation for mass–energy equivalence, E = mc 2. Einstein received the 1921 Nobel Prize in Physics.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Albert Einstein Collection comprises one item of outgoing correspondence and one original manuscript. Written in his capacity as chair of the Emergency Committee of Atomic Scientists, the Correspondence (one letter) is an appeal for funding to educate the public about the uses of atomic energy. The 11-page Manuscript, undated, is a research paper entitled "Uber rotationssymmetrishe stationare Gravitationsfelder" which includes text and numerous mathematical calculations.


Arrangement of the Collection

Two items.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Einstein, Albert, 1879-1955.

Subjects

Physicists.
Physics.

Genres and Forms

Letters (correspondence)
Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Physicists.
Scientists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Albert Einstein Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Manuscripts


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 143 Dr. Changsoon Kim, Korean Cultural Association, Honolulu 5 Mar 1947
Manuscripts
SC 143 "Uber rotationssymmetrishe stationare Gravitationsfelder" ("On Rotationally Symmetric Stationary Gravitational Fields") undated