Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Donald Eberly Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 31 Jul 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Eberly, Donald J.
Title: Donald Eberly Papers
Dates: 1967-1984
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Honorary President of the International Association for National Youth Service and the founding director (1966) of the National Service Secretariat. Collection relates to Eberly's work with the National Service Secretariat.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Donald J. Eberly is the Honorary President of the International Association for National Youth Service and the founding director (1966) of the National Service Secretariat in the USA. He is the author of National Service: A Promise to Keep (1989), National youth service: What do we know (1985), Service Without Guns (2006), and other books and articles on pacifism and national service.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Donald J. Eberly Papers consists of printed material, reports, by-laws, and other material, primarily relating to Eberly's work with the National Service Secretariat. There is also a presentation from the Eleanor Roosevelt Centennial Conference in October, 1984.


Arrangement of the Collection

The material has not been processed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the National Service Secretariat Records.

Special Collections Research Center has made a concerted effort over the years to ensure that its manuscript and rare books holdings complement each other. As a result, many of our manuscript collections are supported by books, pamphlets, serials and other items which are cataloged in the Rare Books Collection. Please be sure to search the Classic Catalog for these related materials.


Subject Headings

Persons

Eberly, Donald J. -- Archives.

Corporate Bodies

National Service Secretariat (U.S.), Archives.

Subjects

National service -- United States.
Service, Compulsory non-military -- United States.
Youth, Services for -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Books.
Diaries.
Minutes.
Reports.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Donald Eberly Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Donald J. Eberly.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.