Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Richard Eberhart Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: KM
Date: 16 Jul 1987

Revision history:
16 Jul 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Eberhart, Richard, 1904-2005.
Title: Richard Eberhart Collection
Dates: 1963-1966
Quantity: 3 items (SC).
Abstract: Papers of the American poet. One letter and two items of printed material.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Richard Eberhart (1904-2005) was a prize-winning American poet. Over his career he published more than a dozen books of poetry and approximately twenty works in total. Eberhart won a Pulitzer Prize in 1966 for Selected Poems: 1930-1965 and a National Book Award in 1977 for Collected Poems: 1930-1976.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Richard Eberhart Collection consists of correspondence and published items. Correspondence is one letter to Gordon Lish. Published material contains copies of an essay and poetry by Eberhart.


Arrangement of the Collection

No particular order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Eberhart, Richard, 1904-2005.

Subjects

American poetry -- 20th century.
Poets, American.

Occupations

Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Richard Eberhart Collection
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Published material


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 19 to Lish, Gordon 4 Nov 1963
Published material
SC 19 "The Vastness and Indifference of the World" (poem) - 1 of 300 copies, inscribed by author to Syracuse University
SC 19 25 Dartmouth Poems - includes introductory essay "Notes on Poetry" and a Postscript by Eberhart; signed