Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Steven Ebbin Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Ebbin, Steven
Title: Steven Ebbin Papers
Dates: 1960-2001
Quantity: 44 linear ft.
Abstract: Steven Ebbin is an American civil servant and political scientist specializing in technology and democratic governance, with a particular focus on energy issues. Collection includes correspondence, notes, drafts of his books, published material, reports, much more.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Steven Ebbin is an American civil servant and political scientist specializing in technology and democratic governance, with a particular focus on energy issues.

A graduate of Syracuse University (1954, 1960), Dr. Ebbin went to India and Brazil as a U.S. Foreign Service Officer shortly after receiving his PhD. Since then he has served as assistant to the majority leader in the U.S. Senate, Director of the Senate Subcomittee on Government Research, Executive Director of the Nuclear Safety Oversight Committee, and Vice President of the Insitutite of International Education. He has designed mechanisms to involve civil society in government decision-making as director of a number of environmental and planning studies of nuclear power and airports. The National Science Foundation funded his study of the role of citizen's groups in nuclear power, and with Raphael G. Kasper he authored Citizen Groups and the Nuclear Power Controversy: Uses of Scientific and Technological Information (MIT, 1974). As the Director of energy training for the US Agency for International Development (USAID) he has given countless lectures to developing country energy professionals about energy sector reform, energy as a vehicle for change and as a vital element in the economic and democratic development process.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Steven Ebbin Papers consists of correspondence, notes, drafts of his book Citizen Groups and the Nuclear Power Controversy: Uses of Scientific and Technological Information, published material, reports and much more. The material spans Ebbin's entire career.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

The library also has copies of Ebbin's book, Citizen Groups and the Nuclear Power Controversy: Uses of Scientific and Technological Information, and of his PhD dissertation, "Personality and politics: a qualitative analysis of the basic factors of political success."


Subject Headings

Persons

Ebbin, Steven.

Corporate Bodies

Institute of International Education (New York, N.Y.)
United States. -- Agency for International Development.
United States. -- Congress. -- Senate. -- Committee on Government Operations. -- Subcommittee on Government Research.
United States. -- Foreign Service.
United States. -- President's Nuclear Safety Oversight Committee

Associated Titles

Citizen groups and the nuclear power controversy: uses of scientific and technological information

Subjects

Energy policy -- Citizen participation.
Environmental protection -- United States -- Citizen participation.
Nuclear power plants -- Environmental aspects -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Drafts (documents)
Manuscripts for publication.
Reports.

Occupations

Government consultants.
Policy scientists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Steven Ebbin Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Steven Ebbin, 1998, 2001.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.