Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Duvall manuscript

An inventory of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 16 Sep 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Duvall, John C.
Title: John Duvall manuscript
Dates: 1960
Quantity: 1 volume.
Abstract: Sociohistorical autobiography, focusing on everyday life and customs in Syracuse, New York in the pre-World War I era.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John C. Duvall (1896 or 7-1972) was a long-time resident of Syracuse, New York. He graduated from Syracuse University College of Law and a taught criminology and sociology at Syracuse University's Maxwell School for many years. He was one of the originators of road racing at Watkins Glen and was the regular sports announcer for their annual Grand Prix. He was a charter member of the Syracuse Press Club, the Sports Car Club of America, and the Race Communication Association. ["John C Duvall, 75; former professor," Syracuse Herald-American, 30 Jan 1972.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Duvall manuscript consists of a photocopy of a typed manuscript, with pencil corrections and annotations, entitled "Years of Our Youth." The manuscript is "a partially personal account of how things were done in the pre-War I years of the present century." In the foreword by Harry Elmer Barnes, he describes the manuscript as "a truly descriptive social history...a vivid panorama of the ways and means in which and by which living was accomplished in the early days of the present era." Chapters include "Women: Their Work and Their Workings," "Amusements and Amazements," and "Plays, Parties, Projects and Pastimes."


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Duvall, John C.

Subjects

Cities and towns -- New York (State) -- History.
Social history -- 20th century -- Anecdotes.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y) -- Biography.
Syracuse (N.Y) -- History.
Syracuse (N.Y) -- Social conditions.
Syracuse (N.Y) -- Social life and customs.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Duvall manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Barbara Mijango, 2011.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Box 1 Years of Our Youth 1960 - typescript photocopy