Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Ludvik Durchanek Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: PRB
Date: 4 Oct 2005

Revision history:
12 Oct 2005 EAD file created (MRR)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Durchanek, Ludvik
Title: Ludvik Durchanek Collection
Dates: 1902-1977
Quantity: 1.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Original drawings and sketches, some correspondence, photographs of Durchanek’s work, and exhibition catalogs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Czech sculptor and painter, born in 1902. For much of his life he lived and worked in New York. He died in 1976.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1902 to 1977, the Ludvik Durchanek Collection comprises Artwork, Correspondence/subject files, Writings, and Memorabilia of the Austrian-American artist.

Including some photographs of his paintings and sculpture, Artwork primarily consists of sketches done in secret while Durchanek was a staff member at the Hudson Valley State Hospital in the 1950s. The sketches were developed into a graphic narrative which was never published and is included in the collection.

Arranged alphabetically, the Correspondence/subject files contains communications with galleries and friends and the guest list and invitation from Durchanek’s seventieth birthday party in 1972.

One untitled and unpublished autobiographical manuscript written in 1972 constitues Writings.

Memorabilia consists of clippings, printed material, and photographs of the artist and his work.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Durchanek, Ludvik, 1902-1976
Durchanek, Ludvik, Archives

Corporate Bodies

Hudson Valley State Hospital

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Painters, United States
Painting, American
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Sculptors, United States
Sculpture, American
Sculpture, American, 20th century

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Drawings.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.
Sketches.
Unpublished manuscripts.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ludvik Durchanek Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Ludvik Durchanek (1966) and Alice Boatwright (2004)


Table of Contents

Artowork

Correspondence / subject files

Writings

Memorabilia


Inventory

Artowork
Box 1 Hospital sketchbook 1951
Box 1 “The Institution” (working title “The hospital”) 1961 - unpublished graphic narrative
Box 1 Photographs of paintings and sculpture (2 folders)
Correspondence / subject files
Box 2 Barrett House, Poughkeepsie, NY “Ludvik Durchanek 1902-1976 Sculpture, Paintings and Drawings” 1 Jul 1977
Box 2 Bennett, Alice and Peter 1972-1976, undated
Boatwright, Alice
See Bennett, Alice and Peter
Box 2 Bennett College Millbrook, NY - Durchanek Benefit 28 Jan 1973
Box 2 Graham Gallery, New York, NY
Box 2 His Excellency Leopold Gardens, Buchlovice, Moravia 1918
Box 2 Seventieth Birthday Celebration 29 Aug 1972
Writings
Box 2 Untitled and unpublished autobiography 1972
Memorabilia
Clippings
Box 2 Fire at Durchanek’s home in Wassaic, NY Nov 1972
Box 2 “Red Scarf” fiction by Alice Boatwright 1980
Box 2 Miscellaneous 1946-1960
Printed material
Box 2 “The Great Society” Feb 1966 - Spotlight - Poughkeepsie, NY
Box 2 “The Old man and the Seer” Oct 1977 - photo essay by Mary Ellen Andrews published in Camera 35
Photographs
Box 2 Personal photographs
Box 2 Miscellaneous negatives
Box 3 Rebuilding of Durchanek’s home in Wassaic, NY (photo album) 1972-1973
Miscellany
Box 3 List of art work
Box 3 Empty folder from hospital sketches