Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Duncan and Jones Account Book

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 7 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Duncan and Jones.
Title: Duncan and Jones Account Book
Dates: 1771-1778
Quantity: 1 volume.
Abstract: Account book of merchants in 18th century New York. Eastern New York State, Dutch families represented.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known of Messrs. Duncan and Jones other than what is shown in the ledger: that they were merchants or businessmen of some kind in eastern New York State.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Duncan and Jones Account Book consists of one ledger recording the accounts of a merchant business in 18th century New York. A number of names may be of interest to students of early New York history, including Jacob Schermerhorn of Rynbeck (Rhinebeck), Benjamin Sedgwick of Canaan, Everardus Bogardus of Rynbeck (Rhinebeck), Phillip Rocofalder of Livingston Manor, and Van Ness. Not every account bears an address; those that do are concentrated in Eastern New York. Among other tradesmen mentioned are a peddler, painter, silversmith, distiller and tinsmith.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Duncan and Jones.

Subjects

Businessmen -- New York (State)
Merchants -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Ledgers (account books)

Occupations

Merchants.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Duncan and Jones Account Book,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1969.


Table of Contents

Financial records


Inventory

Financial records
Volume MV-20 Account book 1771-1778