Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Dun and Bradstreet, Inc. Collection of Small Business Ledgers

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MB
Date: April 1980

Revision history:
28 Oct 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dun and Bradstreet, inc.
Title: Dun and Bradstreet, Inc. Collection of Small Business Ledgers
Dates: 1754-1955
Quantity: 25 linear ft. (208 ledgers)
Abstract: Collection of ledgers from a wide range of small businesses based in the Northeastern United States, from Philadelphia to Old Town, Maine, including many in New Jersey. Business areas represented range from banking and butchers to taverns and wagon-makers.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Dun and Bradstreet, Inc. Collection of Small Business Ledgers consists of ledgers and account books and a small amount of miscellaneous material.

Ledgers and account books comprise the majority of the collection. This series contains business accounts dating mostly from the late 1700's through the mid-1800's. All of the firms represented here were American, with the exception of Ledgers 133 and 134. Most of these firms were based in the North-east, stretching from Philadelphia to Old Town, Maine, and reaching as far inland as Utica and Phelps, New York. Many of the firms were based in New Jersey.

Since most (if not all) of these firms are no longer extant, the ledgers have been arranged not by name of business, but by type. Business types represented here are: Banking, Blacksmithing, Butcher, Brick-Making, Carting, Coal Dealer, Construction, Distiller, Druggist, Dyeing, Egg Dealer, Family Estate, Farms, Farm Products, Fertilizer, Fish, General Stores, Hat-Making, Importing, Insurance, Iron Works, Lawyers, Lumber Yard, Metals Dealer, Milling, Patent Office, Pedlar, Personal Expense Accounts, Post Office, Real Estate, Shipping, Shoe-Makers, Taverns, Taxes, Taylor, Town Records, Tug Boats, Wagon-Maker, Weather Diaries, Workmen's Time Books, and General.

Although some business records for all of these firms have survived here, the names and locations for many of them have been lost.

It is important to note the difference between "day books" and "journals" as opposed to "ledgers." Day books and journals are arranged from beginning to end chronologically. Ledgers, on the other hand, are arranged into separate business accounts, and chronologically only within each account. Many ledgers contain an alphabetical index for these separate accounts.

The Miscellaneous series contains three items: a facsimile of a 1765 non-importation resolution, an old undated map of the mid-western states, and the 1926 typescript of a history of an early railroad, with photographs of early steam engines.

Of particular interest are the news clippings pasted into Ledgers 10 and 21, and the Victorian-era cartoons and doodles in the back pages of Ledger 131.


Arrangement of the Collection

Books are arranged in alphabetical order by business area, and within that chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Dun and Bradstreet, inc. -- Archives.

Subjects

Accounting -- Books of account.
Agriculture -- Accounting.
Banks and banking -- Accounting.
Blacksmiths -- Accounting.
Brickmakers -- Accounting.
Butchers -- Accounting.
Coal trade -- Accounting.
Construction industry -- Accounting.
Distilleries -- Accounting.
Dye industry -- Accounting.
Egg trade -- Accounting.
Fertilizer industry -- Accounting.
Fish trade -- Accounting.
General stores -- Accounting.
Grain -- Milling.
Insurance companies -- Accounting.
Iron foundries -- Accounting.
Lumber trade -- Accounting.
Metal trade -- Accounting.
Millinery -- Accounting.
Peddlers and peddling -- Accounting.
Pharmacists -- Accounting.
Practice of law -- Accounting.
Real estate business -- Accounting.
Ship chandlers -- Accounting.
Shoemakers -- Accounting.
Small business -- Accounting.
Small business -- Atlantic States.
Small business -- New England.
Taverns (Inns) -- Accounting.

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Daybooks.
Diaries.
Ledgers (account books)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Dun and Bradstreet, Inc. Collection of Small Business Ledgers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Acquired from Dun and Bradstreet, Inc. in 1955, plus purchases of similiar materials, to 1970.


Table of Contents

Ledgers and account books

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Ledgers and account books
Banking
U.S. Bank, New Jersey
Volume 1 1797-1800 Abstract of Creditors
Volume 2 1797-1817 Stock Ledger
Volume 3 1801-1810 Loan Office Journal, Interest Account
Volume 4 1816-1835 Pamphlets, Bank of Maryland
Volume 5 1882-1891 Profit and Loss Accounts, Wood & Van Sant
Volume 6 1883-1884 Banking Journal, Philadelphia
Blacksmithing
Volume 7 1797-1804 Journal, Nathan Matteson
Volume 8 1820-1826 Ledger, Ephram Page
Volume 9 1823-1827 Ledger
Volume 10 1831-1839 Ledger - also contains news clippings
Parsons, Phelps, New York
Volume 11 1831-1834 Day Book
Volume 12 1835-1837 Day Books
C.F. Adams, Bellows Falls, Vermont
Volume 13 1840-1845 Ledger
Volume 14 1863-1865 Day Book
Volume 15 1842-1845 Day Book, Stephen C. Larabee
John S. Heston, Trenton, New Jersey
Volume 16 1842-1849 Ledgers
Volume 17 1850-1856 Ledgers
Volume 18 1849-1873 Day Book, Greensville, New Jersey
Warren F. Westfall, Beemerville, New Jersey
Volume 19 1849-1854 Ledger
Volume 20 1857-1892 Ledger
Volume 21 1851-1855 Day Book with clippings - contains news clippings of a serialized novel, The Follett Curs, printed by The Toledo Blade in 1889.
Volume 22 1857-1863 Day Book
Volume 23 1863-1865 Day Book
Volume 24 1858-1864 Day Book, Debtors' Record
Butcher
Volume 25 1834-1836 Day Book
Brick-Making
Volume 26 1886-1897 Journal, Watson Firebrick Company, Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Candee, Smith & Howland Co., Masons' Building Material
Volume 27 Letter Book 1900-1923
Volume 28 Letter Book 1923-1942
Carting
Volume 29 1868-1877 A.H.Tyrell & Son, Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Coal dealer
Volume 30 1886-1916 James T. Watson, Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Construction
Volume 31 1803-1806 Ledger, Thomas Taylor
Volume 32 1821 Minutes Book, Amsterdam Bridge Company
Volume 33 1852-1853 Ledger, Construction Materials
Distiller
Isaac Howell, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Volume 34 1759-1767 Journal
Volume 35 1767-1790 Ledger
Druggist
Jeremiah Emlen, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Volume 36 1797-1815 Ledger
Volume 37 1810-1826 Letter Book
Volume 38 1815 Day Book
Volume 39 1815-1819 Day Book
Volume 40 1819-1823 Day Book
Volume 41 1822-1826 Letter Book
Dyeing
Volume 42 1808-1812 1843-1844 Ledger
Volume 43 1825-1833 Day Book, Ornsby, Daniel & Co.
Egg Dealer
S.S. Long, New York City
Volume 44 1858-1859 Journal
Volume 45 1861-1862 Journal
Volume 46 1866-1868 Journal
Volume 47 1873-1887 Journal
Volume 48 1863-1879 Ledger
Family Estate
Volume 49 1817-1848 Ledger, Botts Family Estate
Volume 50 1836-1853 Journal, George Conant Estate
Farms
Volume 51 1804-1810 Josiah Bacon, Newton, Massachusetts
Peter Voorheis, Blawenburgh, New Jersey
Volume 52 1812-1848 Journal
Volume 53 1820, 1823, 1835-1836 Estate Books (3 volumes)
Volume 54 1832-1838 Ledger
Volume 55 1828-1833 Day Books
Volume 56 1830-1846 Journal
Volume 57 1841-1856 Day Book
Volume 58 1844-1864 Journal, Westhampton, N.Y.
Farm Products
George Hoffman, Asbury, New Jersey
Volume 59 1858-1862 Day Book
Volume 60 1860 Account Book
Volume 61 1875-1880 Day Book
Volume 62 1875-1880 Ledger
Fertilizer
Volume 63 1856-1861 Treasurer's ledger and stock ledger, New Jersey Fertilizer Company, Middletown, New Jersey
Fish
Volume 64 1844-184? Day Book, Totten's Landing, Staten Island
General Stores
Volume 65 1760-1762 Day Book, Boston and Weathersfield
Volume 66 1773-1774 Day Book, Hanover
Abner Loring, Hingham, Massachusetts
Volume 67 1783-1785 Journal
Volume 68 1783-1784, 1788-1789, 1823, 1834-1835 Journal
Zebadiah Tracy, Windham
Volume 69 1784-1789 Ledger
Volume 70 1788-1794 Ledger
Volume 71-a 1793-1801 Ledger
Volume 71-b 1792-1796 Ledger
Joshua Atwater, Wallingford, Connecticut
Volume 72 1793-1794 Day Book
Volume 73 1794-1795 Day Book
Volume 74 1797-1807 Day Book
Volume 75 1800-1801 Day Book
Volume 76 1803-1805 Day Book
Volume 77 1821-1824 Day Book
Volume 78 1793-1813 Ledger
Volume 79 1799-1816 Ledger
Volume 80 1809-1834 Ledger
Volume 81 1814-1820 Journal, New York
Volume 82 1816-1828 Day Book, Elisha Blin, Whitehall, N.Y.
Volume 83 1818 Day Book, White Plains
Volume 84 1821-1823 Day Book, Pine Island, New York
Volume 85 1823-1824 Day Book, Pine Island, New York
Volume 86 1823-1830 Journal, William Chadwick, New York
Volume 87 1824-1826 Ledger, New Jersey
W. Smith & Co., Farmerville, New York
Volume 88 Day Book 1824
Volume 89 Day Book 1826-1827
Nathan Satterthwaite, Crosswicks, New Jersey
Volume 90 Day Book 1825-1827
Volume 91 Day Book 1827-1831
Volume 92 1831-1832 Day Book, John M. Ames, New Haven, Conn.
Lathrop, Potkin & Wait, Burlington, Vermont
Volume 93 1836-1881 Ledger
Volume 94 1839-1841 Ledger
Volume 95 1839-1840 Day Book
Volume 96 1839-1841 Day Book
Crowell & Freeman, Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Volume 97 1837 Day Book
Volume 98 1838 Day Book
Volume 99 1841 Day Book
Volume 100 1851 Day Book
Volume 101 1839-1841 Ledger
Volume 102 1838-1839 Day Book, Woodville, New York
Volume 103 1839-1843 Journal, Winthrop & Potwin, Burlington, Vermont
Volume 104 1841-1842 Ledger, Zebadiah Wills
Volume 105 1845-1848 Journal, Gilbert H. Cooper
Volume 106 1846-1850 Day Book, Walter Dickerson, Woodville
Volume 107-a 1850 Day Book, Epping
S.S. Denton, Vernon, New Jersey
Volume 107-b 1847 Journal
Volume 108 1854-1858 Ledger
Volume 109 1870-1879 Ledger
Volume 110 1882-1888 Ledger
Volume 111 1870-1877 Journal
Volume 112 1877-1880 Journal
Volume 113 1881-1895 Journal
Volume 114 1890-1891 Journal
M.P. Wadleigh, Old Town, Maine
Volume 115 1850 Ledger
Volume 116 1856-1857 Ledger
Volume 117 1860-1865 Ledger
Volume 118 1868 Journal
Volume 119 1857-1860 Journal
C.B. Stout, Centerville, New Jersey
Volume 120 1858-1859 Day Book
Volume 121 1861 Day Book
Volume 122 1871-1872 Day Book
Volume 123 1862-1867 Ledger
Volume 124 1866-1877 Journal, South Brunswick, New Jersey
John J. Backster, Lafayette, New Jersey
Volume 125 1870-1875 Ledger
Volume 126 1875-1877 Day Book
Volume 127 1881-1883 Journal
Volume 128 1885-1886 Journal
Volume 129 1886-1888 Journal
Volume 130 1888-1890 Journal
Hat-Making
Volume 131 1767-1777, 1890 Ledger, with cartoons and drawings added (circa 1890)
Importing
Volume 132 1868-1870 Letter-book, Frank H. Maynard
Insurance
Liverpool & London & Globe Insurance Co., New Jersey office
Volume 133 1921-1925 Insurance account journal
Volume 134 1928-1937 Insurance account journal
Iron Works
Dry Dock Iron Works
Volume 135 1853-1859 Accounts Receivable and Payable
Volume 136 1859-1866 Accounts Receivable and Payable
Volume 137 1859-1862 Cash Book
Volume 138 1856-1862 Time Book
Volume 139 1956 New York, Iron Foundry
Lawyers
Thomas Lee
Volume 140 Ledger 1806-1815
Volume 141 Ledger 1809-1810
Volume 142 1829-1833 J.S. Mitchell
Volume 143 1839-1840 Record of Court Cases, Burlington Co., N.J.
Volume 144 1840-1850 Ledger, New Jersey
Volume 145 1845-1850 Record of Court Cases, Somerset Co., N.J.
Lumber Yard
Philadelphia, Pa.
Volume 146 1817-1819 Journal
Volume 147 1819-1822 Journal
Volume 148 1820-1823 Journal
Metals Dealer
J.S. Underhill
Volume 149 1862-1866 Receipts
Volume 150 1863-1865 Store Room Book
Volume 151 1866 Cash Book
Milling
Samuel Wetherill, Grain and Saw Mills, Pennsylvania
Volume 152 General 1816-1823
Volume 153 Wetherill Estate and Mill Accounts 1816-1829, 1820-1823
Volume 154 Stoutsburg Mills, Flour Milling Ledger 1817-1819
Patent Office
Volume 155 1817-1830 Pamphlets
Pedlar
Volume 156 1823-1824 Butler, Brooms, Household Items
Personal Expense Accounts
Volume 157 1799-1808 Receipt Book, Stephen Thorne, New York
Volume 158 1806-1809 1827-1838 M. Houpt, Philadelphia, Pa.
Volume 159 1818-1823 Account Book, Cold Spring, N.Y.
Volume 160 1823-1830 Receipt Book, John L. Graham, New York
Volume 161 1824-1854 Receipt Book, Benjamin Grimm, accounts in German
Volume 162 1852-1860 Cash journal
Volume 163 1868-1870 Journal, Frank H. Maynard
Post Office
Volume 164 1840-1842 Reports, Port Elizabeth, New Jersey
Real Estate
Volume 165 1849-1873 Ledger, Horatio Seymour, Utica, New York
Volume 166 1854-1855 Abstracts of Titles
Shipping
Volume 167 1754-1760 Ledger, Daniel Wright, Voyage Accounts
Volume 168 1781-1792 Day Book, William Breck, Ships Accounts
Sag Harbor, New York, Ship Yard, Chandler
Volume 169 Day Book 1806-1820
Volume 170 Day Book 1810-1812
Volume 171 Day Book 1820-1821
Chandler
Volume 172 1812-1830 Journal
Volume 173 1819-1827 Ledger
Ship Barreda Brothers
Volume 174 Shipping journal 1854-1860
Volume 175 Shipping journal 1857-1860
Chandler, Perth Amboy, New Jersey, Tug Boats
Volume 176 1886-1889 Ledger
Volume 177 1889-1892 Ledger
Volume 178-a 1894-1896 Ship's Log, F.H. Prince
Shoe-Makers
Volume 178-b 1772-1776 Day Book, Timothy Gaylord, Norfolk
Volume 178-c 1810-1847 Day Book, Islip, New York
Volume 178-d 1836-1840 Day Book, Abram Bloodgood
Taverns
William D. Jewell
Volume 179 Ledger 1806-1823
Volume 180 Ledger 1859-1890
Volume 181 1806-1810 Day Book
Volume 182 1826-1838 Day Book
Taxes
New Jersey, James Mott, Treasurer
Volume 183 1780-1803 Disbursements, Treasurer's Day Book
Volume 184 1784-1790 Loan Office Certificates, Interest Journal
Volume 185 1790-1795 Loan Office Certificates
Volume 186 1785-1803 Revenue Tax Ledger
Taylor
Volume 187 1753-1755 Ledger
Volume 188 1771-1778 Journal, New York
Town Records
Volume 189 1773-1847 Ledger, Chesterfield, New Jersey
Tug Boats
Volume 190 1858 Day Book, West Troy, N.Y.
See also Chandler, Perth Amboy, New Jersey, Tug Boats (Ledgers 176 and 177)
Wagon-Maker
Volume 191 1819 Account Book
Weather Diaries
Volume 192 1859 Daily Calendar
Volume 193 1860 Daily Calendar
Workmen's Time Book
Volume 194 1862-1863 Overtime Journal
General Ledgers
Volume 195 1769-1794 Receipt Book, Josiah Langdale Coates
Volume 196-a 1837 Ledger, Unidentified
Volume 196-b 1837 Journal, Commission Merchant, New Canaan, Connecticut
Volume 197 1844-1856 Receipt Book, William C. Smith Co., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Volume 198 1897-1900 Ledger, McLaughlin Brothers
Volume 199 1940-1955 Journal, Untitled
Miscellaneous
Volume 200 Non-importation resolution, Philadelphia 1765 - facsimile
Volume 201 Maps - Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma
Volume 202 Railroad history typescript, The Evolution of Transportation and Early History of America's First Railroad by C.N. Esender, Los Angeles 1926