Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Roscoe Drummond Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MB
Date: Feb 1971

Revision history:
14 Jan 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Drummond, Roscoe, 1924-
Title: Roscoe Drummond Papers
Dates: 1967-1970
Quantity: 1.4 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American newspaper columnist. Correspondence and writings, including newspaper columns (1967-1970), drafts, revisions, clippings.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

J. Roscoe Drummond (1924-1983) was an American journalist, editor and syndicated Washington columnist. Born in Theresa, New York, he graduated from Syracuse University and went on to write for national publications including the Christian Science Monitor, the New York Herald Tribune, and the Los Angeles Times Syndicate. He was chief of the Washington Bureau for both the Monitor (1940-1953) and the Herald Tribune, and his "State of the Nation" column was carried by 150 newspapers across the country. From 1949-1951 he served as European Director of Information for the Marshall Plan. He is also remembered for his vocal opposition to censorship.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Roscoe Drummond Papers consist of correspondence and writing.

Correspondence contains three letters, with enclosures, including one from San Francisco mayor Joseph L. Alioto.

Writings are made up of columns written, for the most part, by Drummond; those after 1968 were written with his son Geoffrey. There are also a few columns written by Saville Davis, Carleton Kent, Tom Littlewood, Earl Mazo, Philip Potter, and Thomas Ross, each of whom substituted for Drummond on occasion. Some of these have specific titles and appear to have been nationally syndicated, while those entitled "Point of View" may have been written for a single publication. Usually there are several revised drafts of each column; these, along with associated research material, clippings or press releases, are filed together.


Arrangement of the Collection

With the exception of one folder of miscellaneous research material, which could not be placed with a specific column, the writings are arranged alphabetically by author and within that chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has more than eighty collections relating to journalists and journalism; please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Drummond, Roscoe, 1924-

Subjects

Journalism.
Journalists -- United States.
Newspapers --Sections, columns, etc.

Genres and Forms

Drafts (documents)
Newspaper columns.

Occupations

Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Roscoe Drummond Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Roscoe Drummond, 1970.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Writings


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 1967-1969
Writings
Research material
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Columns
Box 1 Davis, Saville Aug 1967, Dec 1967, Jan 1968 (2 folders)
Drummond, Roscoe
Box 1 Jan 1967-Feb 1968 (8 folders)
Box 2 Mar 1968-Dec 1969 (10 folders)
Box 3 Jan 1970-Jun 1970 (3 folders)
Box 3 Kent, Carleton Dec 1967
Box 3 Littlewood, Tom Sep 1967, Jan 1968 (2 folders)
Box 3 Mazo, Earl Aug 1967
Box 3 Potter, Philip Sep 1967, Dec 1967
Box 3 Ross, Thomas Dec 1967, Jan 1968 (2 folders)