Collection inventory


Finding Aids

W. H. P. Driver Research Notes

An inventory of his notes at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: circa 1970

Revision history:
7 Apr 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Driver, W. H. P.
Title: W. H. P. Driver Research Notes
Dates: circa 1880-1891
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Ethnographic notes on the Koroa (Korwa), Sobor (Savara), and Pohira (possibly Pahari?) tribes of India.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Little is known of W. H. P. Driver. He was evidently an ethnographer interested in the tribes of India. The Journal of the Asiatic Society of Bengal published several articles by him on the subject, and their proceedings of 1889 mention the "prehistoric and ancient relics that are being unearthed by Mr. W. H. P. Driver, of Ranchi, in the Neolithic sites discovered by him in that district," suggesting that Driver was an amateur archaeologist as well. A letter in the collection suggests that Driver was British.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The W. H. P. Driver Research Notes consists of ethnographic notes on the Koroa (Korwa), Sobor (Savara), and Pohira (possibly Pahari?) tribes of India. The notes may represent draft writings, a stage between field notes and a more polished, published account. A single letter dated 1891, copied at the end of the first section, refers to a monograph on the Savaras given before a meeting in 1889 and subsequently lost. The letter is addressed to a Mr. Risely, Chowringham, indicating a strong possibility of Driver being British.

Notes on language are found in the back of the volume, upside down. Also included are loose notes on the tribes and a galley proof, "The Koroas."


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Driver, W. H. P.

Subjects

Ethnology -- India.
Korwa (Indic people)
Savara (Indic people)

Places

Jharkhand (India) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Research notes.

Occupations

Anthropologists.
Archaeologists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

W. H. P. Driver Research Notes,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1969.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Research notes on tribes of India 1880-1891