Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jerry Doyle Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MD
Date: 15 Dec 2008

Revision history:
15 Dec 2008 converted to EAD (MD)
23 Jun 2011 updated and expanded bio and related material (AM)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Doyle, Jerry Aloysius, 1898-
Title: Jerry Doyle Cartoons
Dates: 1930-1940
Quantity: 2 items
Abstract: 2 original editorial cartoons.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jerry Doyle (1898-1986) was an American editorial cartoonist.

Doyle began his career in the newspaper industry while working as a messengar boy for the Philadelphia Inquirer. Next he worked as a paste-up boy for the Public Ledger, before moving on to the Philadelphia Record as its assistant art director. In 1926, he joined the Merchant Marines for a time, before returning to the Record as its editorial cartoonist. Doyle continued as editorial cartoonist until the paper ceased publication in 1947.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jerry Doyle Cartoons contains two original editorial cartoons composed for the Philadelphia Record sometime during the late 1930s or early 1940s.


Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged alphabetically by caption.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of more than 150 cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Doyle, Jerry Aloysius, 1898-

Associated Titles

Philadelphia record (Philadelphia, Pa. : 1879)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.
World politics -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Places

United States -- Politics and government --1933-1945 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jerry Doyle Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

One item transferred from Goodspeed Cartoon Collection, 2008.


Table of Contents

Cartoons


Inventory

Cartoons
Box 1 "Careful Now, Mister—One Step At A Time" 1930s - inscribed to Chester H. McCall
Box 1 "In Back of It All" circa 1940 - inscribed to Mrs. Gladys T. Clements