Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Kōnstantinos Apostolou Doxiadēs Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Feb 1967

Revision history:
1 Mar 2007 converted to EAD (AMCon)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Doxiadēs, Kōnstantinos Apostolou, 1913-1975.
Title: Kōnstantinos Apostolou Doxiadēs Papers
Dates: 1958-1966.
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: The papers of the Greek architect and city planner contain articles by and about Doxiadēs, pamphlets, and interviews.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Dr. Kōnstantinos Apostolou Doxiadēs (1913-1975), an architect-planner, was born in Stenimachos, Greece, on May 14, 1913. He graduated as an architect-engineer from the Technical University of Athens in 1935. After studying at the Berlin-Charlottenburg University in Germany until 1936, he married Emma Scheeper in 1940; they had four children. Doxiados received an LL.D. from Swarthmore College in the United States in 1962 and was at Mills College until 1964. He received an L.H.D. from Wayne State University and went to Northern Michigan University in 1965.

In 1948, Doxiadēs was made minister-coordinator of the Greek Recovery Program for the following three years. In 1951, he became president of Doxiadēs Associates, a consultant in development and ekistics, in Athens. In 1958, he began teaching at the Athens Technical Institute, as a professor of ekistics in its Graduate School of Ekistics. Doxiadēs was a visiting lecturer at the universities of Chicago, Yale, Harvard, Princeton, Southern California, Swarthmore College, and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His honors include the Greek Military Cross(1941), officer of the Order of the British Empire(1954), the Sir Patrick Abercrombie prize of the International Union of Architects(1963), and others. He was an honorary corresponding fellow of the Royal Incorporated Architects of Scotland and an honorary corresponding member of the Town Planning Institute of Great Britain.

Doxiadēs was also a distinguished author. He wrote many books, mainly in Greek, including March of the People(1949), Our Capital and Its Future(1960), and Architecture in Transition(1963), in English. He also wrote reports on development and ekistics in some thirty countries.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Kōnstantinos Apostolou Doxiadēs Papers span 1958-1996 and include a Bibliography (1 folder) of articles written about Dr. Doxiadēs, one letter of Outgoing correspondence (1 folder), Manuscripts (2 folders) of an article by and an interview with Dr. Doxiadēs, and Published materials (1.5 boxes) including books, magazine articles, an interview, and pamphlets.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Doxiadēs, Kōnstantinos Apostolou, 1913-1975.

Subjects

Architects.
Architecture -- United States -- 20th century.
City planners.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Interviews.
Pamphlets.

Occupations

Architects.
City planners.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Dr. Kōnstantinos Apostolou Doxiadēs Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Dr. Doxiadēs, 1965-1970.


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Manuscripts

Published material


Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Biographical material
Correspondence
Outgoing
Box 1 1965
Manuscripts
Article by
Box 1 Written for "Kopusai-Kentiku" 1965
Interview
Box 1 European Recovery Program Interview 1964
Published material
Books by
Box 1 Architecture in Transition 1963
Box 1 Arquitectura en Transicion 1963
Box 1 The New World of Urban Man 1965
Interview
Box 1 Meet the Press 1965
Magazine articles by
Box 1 1965-1966, 1962, undated
Pamphlets by
Box 1 1958-1960
Box 2 1962
Box 2 1963
Box 2 1964-1966