Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Truman Bartlett Douglass Booklet

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 5 May 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Douglass, Truman Bartlett.
Title: Truman Bartlett Douglass Booklet
Dates: Undated
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Handmade booklet of cat pictures with humorous captions made by the American Congregational clergyman.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Truman Bartlett Douglass (1901-1969) was an American Congregational clergyman, particularly active in urban ministry, civil rights, and Christian unity. He was instrumental in the merger with the Evangelical and Reformed Church which formed the United Church of Christ in 1957.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Truman Bartlett Douglass Booklet contains 20 pages of cat pictures paired with humorous captions. Most of the images satirize other Congregationalists and make reference to the contentious 1957 merger with the Evangelical and Reformed Church. A typewritten preface by Douglass' friend Yoshio Fukuyama explains that Douglass "experienced a great deal of frustration with Congregationalists who opposed the Union. . . [and] found an outlet for his frustrations through his extraordinary sense of humor." The booklet is entitled "Requiescat Continuationists."


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Truman Bartlett Douglass Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

Douglass, Truman Bartlett.
Fukuyama, Yoshio, 1923-

Subjects

Cats -- Humor.
Christian union -- United States.
Congregational Churches -- Relations -- Evangelical and Reformed Church.
Congregational churches -- United States -- Clergy.
Evangelical and Reformed Church.
General Council of the Congregational Christian Churches of the United States.

Genres and Forms

Booklets.
Photographs.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Truman Bartlett Douglass Booklet,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Virginia Douglass, 1997.


Table of Contents

Booklets


Inventory

Booklets
SC 479 "Requiescat Continuationists" Undated