Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Carl and Amelia Dorr Political Autograph Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: 2 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dorr, Carl E.
Title: Carl and Amelia Dorr Political Autograph Collection
Dates: 1865-1890
Quantity: 2 volumes.
Abstract: Two volumes, containing autographs of U.S. senators, representatives, governors, cabinet members, etc.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Carl E. Dorr and his wife, Amelia Morgan Dorr, were avid collectors of presidential and campaign memorabilia and ephemera.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Carl and Amelia Dorr Political Autograph Collection consists of two volumes, containing autographs of U.S. senators, representatives, governors, cabinet members, etc. Each page has a typed insert giving the name and position of persons appearing on that page.


Arrangement of the Collection

No order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of other autograph collections and collections of political and campaign memorabilia. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Dorr, Amelia Morgan.
Dorr, Carl E.

Subjects

Autographs -- Collections.
Cabinet members -- United States -- Autographs.
Legislators -- United States -- Autographs.
Presidents -- United States -- Autographs.

Genres and Forms

Autographs.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Carl and Amelia Dorr Political Autograph Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books, 1981.


Table of Contents

Autographs


Inventory

Autographs
Box 1 Miscellaneous (2 volumes)