Collection inventory


Finding Aids

I. A. Dorner Manuscript

An inventory of his item(s) at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LDC
Date: 24 Oct 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dorner, I. A. (Isaak August), 1809-1884.
Title: I. A. Dorner Manuscript
Dates: circa 1870
Quantity: 1 item (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the German theologian. Manuscript, "Dogmatik," in a single volume.
Language: In German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Isaak August Dorner (1809-1884) was a German philosopher and theologian.

Dorner was born June 20, 1809 in Württemberg, Germany to a German Lutheran pastor. Following in his father's footsteps, Dorner took an interest in the church. After attending school at the University of Tübingen, he travelled to England and the Netherlands to further study the Protestant faith. He began a fruitful career as a professor of theology at the University of Tübingen in 1837. As a theologian, Dorner was particularly interested in Kantian and post-Kantian ideas, specifically how they related to the Lutheran doctrine. He died July 8, 1884 in Wiesbaden, Germany.

Selected Works

1835-1839 Entwicklungsgeschichte der Lehre von der Person Christi
Translated into English: History of the Development of the Doctrine of the Person of Christ, 5 volumes, 1861-1863
1841 Das Princip unserer Kirche nach dem innern Verhältniss seiner zwei Seiten betrachtet
1867 Geschichte der protestantischen Theologie
Translated into English: History of the Protestant Theology, 2 volumes, 1871
1879-1881 Christliche Glaubenslehre

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The I. A. Dorner Manuscript collection contains a single bound copy of an unpublished manuscript by Dorner, "Dogmatik."


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Dorner, I. A. (Isaak August), 1809-1884.

Subjects

Theologians -- Germany.
Theology -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts for publication.

Occupations

Theologians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

I. A. Dorner Manuscript
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
Unpublished manuscripts
SC 241 "Dogmatik" (1 volume)