Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Tad Dorgan Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MD
Date: 25 Mar 2009

Biographical History

Thomas Aloysius Dorgan (1877-1929), famously known by his pen name "TAD", was an American cartoonist.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Tad Dorgan Cartoons collection contains 2 original cartoons from the newspaper comic panel Indoor Sports (circa 1920) and 1 original cartoon from the newspaper comic panel Outdoor Sports (1927). Panel cartoon: pen and ink on illustration board, approx. 8 ½ x 13 ½ in.

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are in chronological order by title.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings


TAD, 1877-1929.

Associated Titles

Indoor sports (comic strip)
Outdoor sports (comic strip)


American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.
Sports -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Tad Dorgan Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1963.

Table of Contents

Indoor Sports

Outdoor Sports