Collection inventory


Finding Aids

J. Dodson Letter

A description of his letter at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 22 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dodson, John E., 1857-1931
Title: J. Dodson Letter
Dates: 1857-1931
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A letter likely written by the English actor and vaudeville performer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John E. Dodson (1857-1931) was an English actor who moved to the United States in the late nineteenth century. He performed comedy bits and character parts in New York City vaudeville theaters. His address was at the Lotos Club, New York.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The J. Dodson Letter is an undated letter written on Lotos Club, New York letterhead. Based on this letterhead and the signature, it was likely sent by the actor John E. Dodson.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Dodson, John E., 1857-1931

Subjects

Vaudeville -- New York (State) -- New York.

Places

New York (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Actors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

J. Dodson Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1966.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 409 Undated