Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Benjamin Disraeli Letter

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 10 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Disraeli, Benjamin, 1804-1881.
Title: Benjamin Disraeli Letter
Dates: 1869-1878
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter written by the British Prime Minister, as well as a portrait photograph of him.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Benjamin Disraeli (1804-1881) was a British Prime Minister (1868, 1874-1880) and conservative politician.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Benjamin Disraeli Letter contains a handwritten letter dated 30 Mar 1869. In the letter, Disraeli refers to a political speech he is writing. The letter was sent from Disraeli's home of Hughenden Manor, in High Wycombe, England.

The collection also contains a photograph portrait of Disraeli dated 22 Jul 1878, The photographer was Jabez Hughes of Ryde, Isle of Wight.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Disraeli, Benjamin, 1804-1881.

Subjects

Politicians -- Great Britain -- Correspondence.

Places

Hughenden Manor (England).

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Photographs.

Occupations

Politicians.
Prime ministers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Benjamin Disraeli Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 407 1869 - also includes a photograph portrait of him dated 1878.