Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Samuel Dirk Daybook

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 7 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dirk, Samuel.
Title: Samuel Dirk Daybook
Dates: 1813-1840
Quantity: 1 volume
Abstract: Daybook of a 19th century blacksmith, including sales of general provisions.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Samuel Dirk was a blacksmith. Nothing is known of him beyond the information given in the collection.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Samuel Dirk Daybook consists of one volume, a daybook showing blacksmith's records and sales of general provisions.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single volume.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

See also the Blacksmith Shop Collection


Subject Headings

Persons

Dirk, Samuel.

Subjects

Horseshoeing -- 19th century.
Blacksmithing -- 19th century.
Ironwork -- 19th century.

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Daybooks.

Occupations

Blacksmiths.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Samuel Dirk Daybook,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 1968.


Table of Contents

Business records


Inventory

Business records
Volume MV 500 Daybook 1813-1840