Collection inventory


Finding Aids

John Dillenberger Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: EFB
Date: 12 Jan 1970

Revision history:
8 Apr 2010 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dillenberger, John.
Title: John Dillenberger Papers
Dates: 1948-1991
Quantity: 5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American theologian, author, Dean and President of the Graduate Theological Union, Berkeley, California. Collection includes administrative records (1969); correspondence (1983-1991); writings by Dillenberger, including essays, reviews, and speeches; and a draft of Paul Tillich's Systematic Theology, with annotations by Dillenberger.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

John Dillenberger (1918–2008) was an American historian of science specializing in the relationship between science and religion. His book Protestant Thought and Natural Science (1960) was considered an authoritative introductory survey of the topic for several decades.

Paul Johannes Tillich (1886–1965) was a German-American theologian and Christian existentialist philosopher. He is considered by many to be one of the most influential Protestant theologians of the twentieth century.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The John Dillenberger Papers consist of administrative records, and writings of both Dillenberger and others.

Administrative records relate to Dillenberger's position as Dean and President of the Graduate Theological Union. The records included here are a budget and miscellaneous notes dealing with administrative matters.

Writings by Dillenberger consist of articles and books written between 1948 and 1969, including Dillenberger's PhD dissertation.

Writings of others consists of drafts of Paul Tillich's Systematic Theology, volume 1, in the writing of which Dillenberger assisted Tillich. There is a complete draft of volume 1 plus fragments of other drafts. Revisions to the completed draft are Tillich's alone, while the fragments contain revisions by both Tillich and Dillenberger.


Arrangement of the Collection

Administrative records are arranged chronologically. Dillenberger's writings are subdivided by type and within that, arranged alphabetically by title. Writings by others is subdivided into the complete draft and fragments.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Dillenberger, John.
Tillich, Paul, 1886-1965. -- Systematic theology.

Corporate Bodies

Graduate Theological Union.

Subjects

Educators -- United States.
Theologians -- United States.
Theology -- 20th century.
Theology -- Study and teaching.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Essays.
Manuscripts for publication.
Reviews (document genre)
Speeches.

Occupations

Educators.
Theologians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

John Dillenberger Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of John Dillenberger, 1969.


Table of Contents

Administrative records

Writings by Dillenberger

Writings by others


Inventory

Administrative records
Box 1 Proposed budget of urban-black studies center 1969-1970
Box 1 Notes on administrative matters 1969
Writings by Dillenberger
Articles
Box 1 "The Graduate Theological Union: Seven Years Later" in Nexus 36, vol. XII no. 3 Spring 1969
Box 1 "The Integration of Theological Faculties" undated - typescript reproduction
Box 1 "Luther and the Communication of Christianity to Culture" 1948 - typescript
Box 1 "Theological Education" 1969 - first draft; typescript and holograph
Books
Box 1 Contours of Faith 1969 - galleys, page proofs with revisions
Box 1 The Hidden God 1948 - dissertation; typescript of final draft
Writings by others
Tillich, Paul, Systematic Theology
Box 1 Draft A - holograph with revisions (5 folders)
Box 2 Draft A - holograph with revisions (12 folders)
Box 3 Draft A - holograph with revisions
Box 3 Draft fragments - holographs, typescripts, both original reproduction, with annotations and revisions (6 folders)
Box 3 Dillenberger/Tillich address undated