Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Dill Family Papers

A description of their papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 7 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dill family.
Title: Dill Family Papers
Dates: 1833-1878
Quantity: 4.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence and financial papers of the Dill and King families of central New York (Port Byron, Camillus, Auburn).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Dill family was from central New York; internal evidence suggests the towns of Port Byron, Camillus and Auburn. Finlay M. King was an active Freemason and may have been involved in local government.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Dill Family Papers consist of correspondence and financial records. The correspondence also includes that of members of the King family, particularly Finlay M. King.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Dill family.
Dill, John, 1757-1846.
Dill, Samuel, 1767-1869.
King family.
King, Finlay M., b. 1820.

Corporate Bodies

Freemasons. -- Grand Lodge of the State of New York.

Subjects

Freemasons -- New York (State)
Lawyers -- New York (State)

Places

New York (State) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Financial records.

Occupations

Lawyers.
Soldiers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Dill Family Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, 1962, 1966.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.