Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Louise Diel Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 27 Jul 2011

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Diel, Louise, 1893-
Title: Louise Diel Correspondence
Dates: 1934-1958
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence between Louise Diel and Antje Lemke.
Language: German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Louise Diel was a German journalist and writer. She was friends with, and author of several books on, artist K├Ąthe Kollwitz and Italian dictator Benito Mussolini prior to his affiliation with Adolf Hitler and the Nazi party.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Louise Diel Correspondence consists of correspondence between author Louise Diel and Antje Lemke, then on the faculty of the School of Library Science at Syracuse University, and between Diel and the Syracuse University Library. The correspondence is almost entirely in German. One small sheet of paper appears to be a brief inscription to Diel from Benito Mussolini, in his hand, signed and dated from Rome in April of 1934.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Diel, Louise, 1893-
Lemke, Antje Bultmann.
Mussolini, Benito, 1883-1945.

Corporate Bodies

Syracuse University. -- Library

Genres and Forms

Autographs.
Correspondence.
Receipts (financial records)

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Louise Diel Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unknown. Possibly gift of Antje Lemke.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 663 Miscellaneous 1934, 1937, 1958