Collection inventory


Finding Aids

DeWitt & Snelling Letter

A description of the letter at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 8 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: DeWitt & Snelling
Title: DeWitt & Snelling Letter
Dates: 1911
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter sent by DeWitt & Snelling, booksellers, concerning their publication of Mark Twain's Letter to the California Pioneers.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

DeWitt & Snelling was a bookseller and occasional-publisher in Oakland, California. The company was owned by James F. Snelling and Frederic M. DeWitt.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The DeWitt & Snelling Letter is a handwritten letter dated 1 Aug 1911 and addressed to Merle Johnson of Douglaston, New York. In the letter, DeWitt and Snelling request information about Mark Twain's Letter to the California Pioneers, which Johnson held in his private collection. Johnson was a book collector interested in Twain memorabilia. DeWitt & Snelling were planning to publish a version of Twain's letter in 1911, and needed to ask Johnson a bibliographic question about it.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center holds other collections related to Twain, including the Mark Twain Collection and the Cyril Clemens Papers.


Subject Headings

Persons

DeWitt, Frederic M.
Johnson, Merle De Vore, 1874-1935.
Snelling, James F.
Twain, Mark, 1835-1910. -- Letter to the California pioneers.

Corporate Bodies

DeWitt & Snelling.

Subjects

Book collectors -- United States.

Places

Douglaston (New York, N.Y.) -- History.
Oakland (Calif.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Booksellers and bookselling.
Publishers and publishing.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

DeWitt & Snelling Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 405 1911