Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Simeon De Witt Receipt

A description of the item at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 23 Aug 2012

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: De Witt, Simeon, 1756-1834.
Title: Simeon De Witt Receipt
Dates: 1796-1797
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Receipt acknowledging payment for advertisements for the sale of Cayuga, Onondaga, and Oneida Indian lands.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Simeon De Witt was geographer and surveyor general of the Continental Army during the American Revolution, and New York State surveyor general from 1784 to 1834.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Simeon De Witt Receipt consists of one item, a receipt from Copp and Freer, publishers of the Rising Sun newspaper in Kingston, New York. The receipt acknowledges payment from Simeon De Witt for three advertisements run in their paper, two in 1796 and one in 1767, concerning the sale of Cayuga, Onondaga, and Oneida Indian lands. The receipt is signed by Abraham B. Baucker, an Ulster County Justice of the Peace.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Baucker, Abraham B.
De Witt, Simeon, 1756-1834.

Corporate Bodies

Rising sun (Kingston, N.Y.)

Subjects

Cayuga Indians -- History.
Indian reservations -- New York (State)
Indians of North America -- Land tenure.
Oneida Indians -- History.
Onondaga Indians -- History.

Places

New York (State) -- Commerce -- History.

Genres and Forms

Receipts (financial records)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Simeon De Witt Receipt,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased from Adah C. Blackman Fund, 2012.


Table of Contents

Financial documents


Inventory

Financial documents
SC 685 Receipt for advertisements for sale of Native American lands 1796-1797