Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Gleb Derujinsky Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: -
Date: Apr 1967

Revision history:
29 Feb 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Derujinsky, Gleb W., 1888-
Title: Gleb Derujinsky Papers
Dates: 1919-1964
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American sculptor, born in Smolensk, Russia; died in 1975. Correspondence, with, among others, Archer M. Huntington and Ronald Lane Latimer, 1925-1960; photoprints; published material about Derujinsky, 1922-1964; and an original sketch.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Gleb Derujinsky (1888-1975) was born in Smolensk, Russia, to aristocratic parents (his father held a position comparable to that of a United States Senator), and emigrated to the United States in 1919. Derujinsky studied at the University and Fine Art Academy at Petrograd and was a member of the National Sculpture Society, the National Academy of Design, and the American Artists Professional League. He received awards from his home country as well as from the Paris World's Fair (1937), the National Academy of Design (1938), the National Arts Club (1961), and the American Artists Professional League, and twice received the Henry Hering Memorial Medal awarded by the National Sculpture Society.

His work has been exhibited at the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and at the Royal Academy in London and in Belgium. His sculptures may be seen at major museums as well as many churches and public buildings, both in the United States (Metropolitan Museum of Art, the New School for Social Research, and Brookgreen Gardens) and abroad (Panama Canal Zone, Jesuit mission on Mocameh, India).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gleb Derujinsky Papers consist of biographical material (a published biographical sketch of Derujinsky), correspondence (both incoming and outgoing), a few subject files (contract, sketch, award, a few photographs), and published material (church bulletins, exhibit notices, newspaper clippings, pemphlets, programs).


Arrangement of the Collection

Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically, outgoing is arranged chronologically. All other material is arranged alphabetically within its series.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many notable sculptors and artists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Derujinsky, Gleb W., 1888- -- Archives.
Huntington, Archer Milton, 1870-
Latimer, Ronald Lane.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Russian Americans.
Sculptors -- United States.
Sculpture , American -- 20th century.
Sculpture, American.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Photographs.
Programs (documents)

Occupations

Artists.
Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gleb Derujinsky Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Biographical material

Correspondence

Subject files

Published material


Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Biographical sketch of Derujinsky
Correspondence
Incoming
Box 1 A 1925, 1940-1941, 1957-1958
Box 1 Baumann, Brother C. 1957-1958
Box 1 Beaux Arts Institute of Design 1925-1926, 1928
Box 1 B 1925-1928, 1940, 1942, 1947, undated
Box 1 C 1942
Box 1 D 1937, 1939, 1947-1948
Box 1 Eggars and Higgins 1950
Box 1 F 1927, 1941-1942, 1948, 1960
Box 1 First National Congress of Catholic Artists 1950
Box 1 Fordham University 1948-1949
Box 1 G 1942, 1947
Box 1 H 1929, 1944, 1947, 1949, 1956
Box 1 Hunting, Archer Milton 1948-1954
Box 1 I 1943, 1947
Box 1 Jennings-Jhodanski 1930, 1937-1938, 1940
Box 1 Kent School 1946-1947
Box 1 K-L 1937, 1941, 1944, 1948-1949
Box 1 Latimer, Ronald Lane 1948-1949
Box 1 M 1939, 1949, 1957, undated
Box 1 N-New York World's Fair 1928, 1933, 1938, 1940, 1943-1944, 1948-1949
Box 1 P 1927-1928, 1936-1937, 1940-1942
Box 1 Rachmaninoff', Sergei 1942
Box 1 R 1929, 1946-1947, 1949-1950
Box 1 S 1937, 1941-1942, 1945, 1948, 1950, 1953, 1956-1957, 1959
Box 1 Toggard-Treasury Department 1938, 1950
Box 1 Tolstoy Foundation, Tolstoy, Alexandre 1950
Box 1 U 1947, 1950
Box 1 W 1938, 1940-1941, 1947-1949
Box 1 Unidentified 1937, 1942, 1944, 1947, undated
Outgoing
Box 1 1942, 1947, 1948, 1953, undated
Subject files
Box 1 Award 1960
Box 1 Contract 1938
Box 1 Original sketch 1919
Box 1 Photographs Derujinsky and son Gleb 1931, undated
Box 1 Of work and others 1937, undated
Published material
Box 1 Church bulletins 1961
Box 1 Exhibition notices 1926, 1953, 1961, 1964
Box 1 Newspaper clippings about 1926, 1930, 1937, 1942, 1958, undated
Box 1 Notice of election 1953
Box 1 Pamphlet, with reproduction of work 1922-1923
Box 1 Pamphlet about, with reproductions of work undated
Box 1 Program 1931