Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Charles Dennis Collection

An inventory of his collection at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: MM
Date: 6 June 1968

Biographical History

Charles Houston Dennis (1921- ) is an American cartoonist.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Dennis Collection contains original gag cartoons for various magazines, sketches and cartoon ideas, correspondence and published material.

Arrangement of the Collection

Cartoons are arranged alphabetically by magazine title. Untitled cartoons are arranged by type in folder labeled "Miscellaneous". Correspondence is foldered in alphabetical order. Other materials are sorted and foldered separately.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Subject Headings


Dennis, Charles H.

Associated Titles

Dennis the sex menace.


American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Sex -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)



Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Dennis Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents


Comic strip cartoon ideas

Gag cartoons

Published material