Collection inventory


Finding Aids

George Deneale Papers

A description of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 7 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Deneale, George, 1766-1818.
Title: George Deneale Papers
Dates: 1794-1942
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence, financial records of an American attorney.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

George Deneale (1766-1818) was clerk of the Alexandria Common Council and clerk of the U.S. Circuit Court for Alexandria, Virginia. He was also a militia officer and a Freemason, and was Grand Master of Alexandria-Washington Lodge, No. 22.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The George Deneale Papers consist of correspondence, pubilshed material and financial records.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is unprocessed and remains in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The collection is currently unprocessed and not available for research. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Deneale, George, 1766-1818.

Corporate Bodies

Freemasons. -- Alexandria-Washington lodge no. 22.
United States. -- Circuit Court (District of Virginia)

Subjects

Lawyers -- Virginia.

Places

Virginia -- Alexandria -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.
Financial records.

Occupations

Lawyers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

George Deneale Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Kohen collection, 1963.


Table of Contents


Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.