Collection inventory

Special Collections home page

Lucius P. Deming Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Finding aid created by: CMV
Date: Jan 1979

Biographical History

The collection suggests that Lucius P. Deming was an American manufacturer of women's clothing in New Haven, Connecticut. The collection also suggests he was a lawyer and judge. The two may have been the same Deming or a father and son.

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Lucius P. Deming Papers comprise published material and scrapbooks.

Published material consists mainly of magazines of the late 1800's, including Godey's Lady's Book, Peterson's Magazine, Harper's New Monthly Magazine, and Frank Leslie's Popular Monthly. The 19 volumes of Scrapbooks contain primarily clippings, but also a few letters, handwritten items, ledger pages, sketches, notes, and other miscellanea.

Arrangement of the Collection

Materials are divided as described above; within that, items are in no particular order.


Access Restrictions:

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions:

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Subject Headings


Deming, Lucius P.


Fashion -- 19th century -- United States.
Fashion -- History.


New Haven (Conn.) -- History.

Genres and Forms


Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Lucius P. Deming Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Table of Contents

Published material


Published material