Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Delaware Street Baptist Church Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 2 Sep 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Delaware Street Baptist Church.
Title: Delaware Street Baptist Church Records
Dates: 1928-1965
Quantity: 0.25 linear ft.
Abstract: Minutes and records of the Syracuse, New York church.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Delaware Street Baptist Church in Syracuse, New York, was founded in 1889 and housed in a large brick building on the corner of Dudley and Delaware streets. At its height it had several hundred members, and was one of three west-side churches (the other two were Brown Memorial United Methodist and St. Paul's Lutheran Church) that collaborated to form West Side Ministries. In the mid-2000s the congregation moved to Fay Road in Westvale, and is today known as the Fay Road Baptist Church. [Taken in part from "THE DELAWARE ST. BAPTIST CHURCH".


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Delaware Street Baptist Church Records consists of minutes and other records of a New York church.


Arrangement of the Collection

Correspondence and meeting minutes are arranged chronologically. Subject files are arranged alphabetically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

Delaware Street Baptist Church.

Subjects

Baptist Church -- New York (State) -- History.

Places

Syracuse (New York) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Church records.
Correspondence.
Minutes.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Delaware Street Baptist Church Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Unspecified, circa 1965.


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Meetings

Subject files


Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 General 1939, 1959, 1962-1964
Meetings
Box 1 Donor notes 1964 or 1965
Box 1 Minutes 1928-1930, 1932, 1938, 1941-1947, 1949-1965 (11 folders)
Subject files
Box 1 Clippings 1935
Box 1 Fire and reconstruction costs 1958
Box 1 History and chronology 1964 or 1965 - covers 1889 to 1964
Box 1 Index of events mentioned in minutes
Box 1 Pageant, 60th anniversary 1949