Collection inventory


Finding Aids

James Deferiet Correspondence

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 31 Jan 2014

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Deferiet, James.
Title: James Deferiet Correspondence
Dates: 1830
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letter from Deferiet to Juston Butterfield of Watertown, N.Y.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nothing is known about the writer of this letter. The recipient, Justin Butterfield, is likely attorney Justin Butterfield (1790-1855), who was commissioner of the General Land Office of the United States from 1849-1852. Born in New Hampshire, he read law in Watertown, New York and later practiced law in Adams, New York; Chicago; New Orleans; and Watertown.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The James Deferiet Correspondence consists of a single letter from Deferiet to Justin Butterfield of Watertown, New York. Apparently Deferiet had constructed a bridge across the Black River and wished to build a lumber mill nearby. Interestingly, Deferiet appears to be funded by a New Orleans bank, perhaps explicable by the fact that Butterfield practiced law for a time in New Orleans.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Butterfield, Justin, 1790-1855.
Deferiet, James.

Subjects

Business enterprises -- New York (State) -- Watertown.

Places

Watertown (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

James Deferiet Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2014.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 704 Butterfield, Justin 1830