Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Henry B. Dawson Letter

A description of his letter at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 8 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dawson, Henry B. (Henry Barton), 1821-1889.
Title: Henry B. Dawson Letter
Dates: 1864
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A letter sent to the American journalist and historian, from an unknown correspondent.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Henry Barton Dawson (1821–1889) was an American journalist, historian and temperance reformer.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Henry B. Dawson Letter is dated 8 Sep 1864 and addressed to Dawson. The signature of the letter's writer is unclear, but the surname may be "Daly."


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center holds further correspondence by Dawson in the Benson John Lossing Collection


Subject Headings

Persons

Dawson, Henry B. (Henry Barton), 1821-1889.

Subjects

Historians -- United States -- Correspondence.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Historians.
Journalists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Henry B. Dawson Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchased, 1969.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 404 1864