Collection inventory


Finding Aids

A. Mark Datz Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: ASE
Date: Apr 1993

Revision history:
5 Jun 2005 EAD file created (MRR)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Datz, A. Mark (Abraham Mark), 1889-1969
Title: A. Mark Datz Papers
Dates: 1916-1969
Quantity: 5.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Correspondence (1926-1965), limited to a very few letters; exhibition catalogs and announcements for one-man and group shows (1926-1963); 12 journals (1943-1969); photographs and negatives of Datz's work; 80 etchings on 77 copper plates; and clippings (1916-1941).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries 222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

American Jewish painter, etcher. Born in Russia 1889, emigrated to the United States in 1903.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1916 through 1969, the A. Mark Datz Papers comprises biographical material, correspondence, artwork, memorabilia, and writings of the American painter and etcher (1889-1969). A Russian Jew by birth, Abraham Mark Datz emigrated to the United States in 1903. The collection provides insight into his Jewish heritage as well as his personal life and artistic career.

Arranged chronologically, the Correspondence (Box 1) is limited to a few incoming letters, predominantly from the 1960s. Correspondents include art-related institutions (American Federation of Arts, Birmingham Museum of Art, Evansville Museum of Arts and Science), photographer Hans Namuth, and writer Richard C. Rothschild.

Artwork (Boxes 1, 7-11) encompasses copper and zinc plates, negatives and photographs of Datz's paintings, and a reproduction of "Martha Pollak" incorporated into a Carnegie Recital Hall announcement. Despite occasional gaps in Datz's numbering system and the presence of a few unnumbered etchings, Copper and zinc plates are arranged numerically. There is a total of 80 etchings on 77 plates, 3 of which bear images on both sides. An alphabetical index of etching titles follows the box list. Photographs, primarily undated, are organized alphabetically by titles supplied by Datz, and followed by a number which are untitled.

Memorabilia (Box 1) includes one photograph of Datz, printed material, and a typescript review by Richard C. Rothschild. Printed material contains newspaper clippings (1916-1941), exhibition catalogs and announcements of group (1928-1963) and one-man shows (1926-1946), in addition to several art periodical reviews (1936-1952).

Writings (Boxes 2-6) consists of twelve journals (1943-1969) which, with few exceptions, Datz updated daily.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Datz, A. Mark (Abraham Mark), 1889-

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Artists, American -- Diaries.
Artists, Jewish -- United States.
Etchers -- United States.
Etching -- Technique -- Specimens.
Jews, American.
Painters -- United States.
Painting, American -- 20th century.
Painting, American.
Russian Americans.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Exhibition catalogs.
Negatives (photographs)
Photographs.
Reviews (document genre)

Occupations

Artists.
Etchers.
Painters.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

A. Mark Datz Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence

Artwork

Memorabilia

Writings

Alphabetical index of etchings

Selected index to correspondence


Inventory

Box 1
Correspondence
A-Z 1926-1965 (1 folder)
See also Selected Index to Correspondence
Artwork
Copper and zinc plates
See also Alphabetical Index of Etchings
Box 7 Numbers 2-21 (19 etchings, 16 folders)
Box 8 Numbers 23-55 (21 etchings, 19 folders)
Box 9 Numbers 56-80 (19 etchings, 18 folders)
Box 10 Numbers 81, 83-93, unnumbered (18 etchings, 16 folders)
Box 11 Number 82, unnumbered (3 etchings, 3 folders)
Box 1 Negatives undated (46 items)
Photographs
Box 1 By title, undated 1959-1963
Box 1 Untitled undated
Box 1 Reproductions 1949
Memorabilia
Box 1 Photographs 1962
Printed material
Box 1 Clippings 1916-1941, undated
Exhibition catalogs, announcements
Box 1 Group shows 1928-1963, undated (3 folders)
Box 1 One-man shows 1926-1946
Box 1 Reviews 1936-1952
Box 1 Miscellaneous
Box 1 Reviews (typescript) undated
Writings
Box 2 Journals 1943, 1947, 1948, 1952-1953 (4 items)
Box 3 Journals 1954-1957 (2 items)
Box 4 Journals 1958-1962 (2 items)
Box 5 Journals 1962-1965 (2 items)
Box 6 Journals 1965-1969 (2 items)

Alphabetical index of etchings

Selected index to correspondence