Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Millie E. Dann Correspondence

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 11 May 2015

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dann, Millie E.
Title: Millie E. Dann Correspondence
Dates: 1882-1916
Quantity: 2 folders (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence of Milllie E. Dann (later Dann-DeMott), physician, of Syracuse, New York. Much of it is with a Frances (Frankie) Blye.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Millie E. Dann (1846-1927) was a physician in Syracuse, New York. Born Amelia Eunice Lamb in Pompey, New York, she married Edward Howard Dann in 1868. He died a year after their marriage. Ms. Dann graduated from Syracuse University College of Medicine (later SUNY Upstate Medical University) in 1878, one of eleven women awarded M.D.s from the College in its first five years. In 1886 she married Andrew J. DeMott.

Little is known of Miss Blye, who apparently lived with her mother in DeRuyter, New York and later in Rochester. The March 24, 1904 issue of the DeRuyter Gleaner mentions a "Miss Frances Blye, who went from Syracuse to Chicago a few weeks since, has employment in Zion City in the Publishing House. Her health is much improved," though it cannot be certain that this is the same Frances Blye. Her father, George D. Blye, died in 1923, aged 82 (DeRuyter Gleaner, 13 Dec 1923).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Millie E. Dann Correspondence consists of letters from Dr. Dann to Frances ("Frankie") Blye and/or to Miss Blye's mother, much of it regarding Miss Blye's treatment for an unspecified illness. Later items are on the letterhead "M. E. Dann-DeMott, M.D."

There are also one or two letters to Frankie from other unidentified individuals.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center also has a small collection relating to Mary Edwards Walker, another early woman physician in Central New York.


Subject Headings

Persons

Blye, Frances.
DeMott, Amelia Dann, 1846-1927.

Subjects

Physicians -- Correspondence.
Women -- Health and hygiene.
Women authors, American.
Women physicians -- United States.

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.)

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Physicians -- 19th century.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Millie E. Dann Correspondence,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2015.


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 743 Blye, Frances 1882-1916 (2 folders)