Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Nicholas D'Angelo Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MAS
Date: 16 Jul 2012

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: D'Angelo, Nicholas V.
Title: Nicholas D'Angelo Papers
Dates: 1939-2003
Quantity: 30 linear ft.
Abstract: Writings, course notes, lectures and scores by the American composer, conductor, musician and teacher.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Nicholas V. D'Angelo (1929-2010) was a prolific American composer, conductor, musician, and teacher. A veteran of the Korean Conflict, he was a conductor of the United States Air Force Band. Beginning in 1955 and for the next 56 years, he was a professor of music at Hobart and William Smith Colleges in Geneva, New York.

Born in Erie, Pennsylvania December 2, 1929, the son of Polidoro and Josephine D'Angelo, he graduated from the University of Pennsylvania and obtained his master's degree from Syracuse University. He studied under various composition teachers including Bernard Rogers, Luigi Dallapiccola, Paul Hindemith and Earl George, and was a composer-in-residence at La Cite Internationale des Arts in Paris, the University of Redlands in California, Georgia State University, the State University of New York at Oswego and Indiana State University. His many compositions garnered him numerous prizes, honors, and grants, including a 1985 nomination for the Pulitzer Prize in music, Hobart and William Smith Colleges' faculty award for distinguished research and scholarship, first prize at the New American Music Festival, the National Endowment of the Arts, the National Endowment of the Humanities, and numerous commissions, including a notable one from the Society for New Music. His music is recorded on the Roulette, KLP, Century and Spectrum labels.

He and his wife Eva had three children, Paul D'Angelo, Ronald D'Angelo and Barbara Riley. Nicholas D'Angelo died on April 19, 2010 in Penfield, New York at age 80.

(Biographical sketch adapted from obituaries in the Rochester Democrat and Chronicle and the Finger Lakes Times.)


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Nicholas D'Angelo Papers consist of memorabilia, recordings, scores and writings by American composer Nicholas V. D'Angelo and others.

Memorabilia consists primarily of clippings about D'Angelo, his performances and work. There are also nine months' worth of the Hobart Herald (1939-1940), the college newspaper of Hobart and William Smith Colleges, in a bound volume.

All but one of the Recordings are of D'Angelo's works and are privately-made (that is, not commercially produced or sold). These include concertos, chamber music pieces, preludes, string quartet pieces, and more. Many are of live performances, including one by the Ithaca High School Wind Ensemble and one by the Tally-Ho Music Camp Band. Others are of radio broadcasts, such as the James Douthit Simply Grand Concert Broadcast on WVIA-FM. Formats include CD and 1/4" tapes.

Scores are subdivided into those by D'Angelo and those by others, which D'Angelo accumulated for research or teaching purposes. Scores by D'Angelo include symphonies, concertos, sonatas, musical dramas and more. There are pieces for all instruments — brass, woodwind, string, percussion, piano, full orchestra — as well as vocal pieces, such as a Chorale and Alleluia Four-Part Chorus of Mixed Voices. Scores by others include a few by specific composers (Mozart, Debussy, Hindemith, etc.) and a large number of others which D'Angelo had categorized in large folders simply by the instrument for which they were written. These latter are all for brass, percussion or reed instruments.

Writings are also subdivided into those by D'Angelo and those by others. Writings by D'Angelo include his dissertation submitted for the D.Ed. degree, an analysis of a Hindemith madrigale, an essay on the pre-Bach cantata, and more. Writings by others consists of a few typescripts by Diane Stevenson and a report from a Hobart and William Smith Colleges task force.


Arrangement of the Collection

Material is listed below alphabetically by title or topic. In most cases it is also physically arranged that way; however, in many cases there were multiple copies of a score in different sizes, so one piece may be housed in several different boxes depending on size. Writings and Scores are subdivided into those by D'Angelo and those by others.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

One published item, a copy of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Complete String Quartets with the Horn and Clarinet Quintets (Dover Study and Playing Editions) has been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging. Please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of composers and musicians, including Franz Waxman and Miklos Rozsa. In addition, the Belfer Audio Archive has an extensive collection of recordings ranging from wax cylinders and early phonodiscs to contemporary commercial recordings.


Subject Headings

Persons

D'Angelo, Nicholas V.
Dallapiccola, Luigi, 1904-1975.
George, Earl, 1924-1994.
Hindemith, Paul, 1895-1963.
Rogers, Bernard, 1893-1968.

Corporate Bodies

Hobart and William Smith Colleges.
Society for New Music.
Syracuse University.
University of Pennsylvania.

Subjects

Chamber music -- 20th century.
Composers -- United States -- 20th century.
Music -- Manuscripts.
Orchestral music -- Scores and parts -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Manuscripts (document genre)
Manuscripts for publication.
Scores.

Occupations

Composers.
Conductors (Music)
Musicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Nicholas D'Angelo Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of the estate of Nicholas D'Angelo, 2011.


Table of Contents

Memorabilia

Recordings

Scores

Writings


Inventory

Memorabilia
Box 11 Miscellaneous - clippings about; program from a performance of D'Angelo music
Oversize 17 Miscellaneous - includes bound issues of Hobart Herald, Sep. 14, 1939 – May 29, 1940
Recordings
Number or letter in parenthesis is the item ID number, as assigned by SCRC. Recordings are listed below in alphabetical order based on the title of the piece
By D'Angelo
Box 12 Part I - "In Memoriam" by Lindsay Lafford; Part II - Part 1 of the Mozart Requiem 20 Mar 1956 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 001)
Box 12 6 Mobiles for Pirandello 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 002)
Box 15 American Dreams, Opaque Images for Viola and Piano CD (ID#: 041)
Box 15 Ancient Forms, Functions and Spirit for Flute and Piano CD (ID#: 042)
Box 12 Brass Quintet #4 (Brass Symposium, Atlanta GA) Feb 1971 1/4 inch tape - stereo (2 tapes) (ID#: 003)
Box 15 Capriccio & Improvisations CD (ID#: 043)
Box 12 Chamber Music Concert : Compositions of Nicholas D'Angelo, Part I 13 Nov 1962 1/4 inch tape - 2 track stereo (ID#: 004)
Box 12 Chamber Music Concert : Compositions of Nicholas D'Angelo, Part II 13 Nov 1962 1/4 inch tape - 2 track stereo (ID#: 005)
Box 15 Circolo Bella Artes Concert (radio show in Madrid, Spain) CD (64 tracks) (ID#: 044)
Box 15 Circolo Bella Artes Concert (radio show in Madrid, Spain) CD (65 tracks) (ID#: 045)
Box 12 Compositions of Nicholas V. D'Angelo 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 006)
Box 12 Concerto for Orchestra (Syracuse Symphony Orchestra) 9 Apr 1972 1/4 inch tape - full track mono (ID#: 007)
Box 15 Concerto for Orchestra/Quartet No.3/Seventh Star of Paracelsus CD (ID#: 046)
Box 12 Divertimento for Flute, Clarinet, Timpani, and Strings 1/4 inch tape - 2 track mono (ID#: 008)
Box 12 Eleventh Annual Symposium of American Music (Redlands, CA) 26-27 Mar 1966 1/4 inch tape - 2 track mono (ID#: 009)
Box 12 A Flight in the Blue: Opening - Lift Your Head (March); Mano del Morta (Hand of Death) (orch.); Shangrila (Symphonic Wind Ensemble) 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 010)
Box 15 James Douthit Simply Grand Concert Broadcast on WVIA-FM 25 May 2003 CD (ID#: 047)
Box 15 Kandinsky Variations for Piano CD (ID#: 048)
Box 12 La Cité International des Arts (Paris) 14 Mar 1967 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 011)
Box 12 Load the Busses - Concert March (Played by the Tally-Ho Music Camp Band) 8 Aug 1963 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 012)
Box 15 Load the Buses/National Guardian/Crown Pointe March CD (ID#: 049)
Box 15 Masks of Innocence Other Enchantments CD (ID#: 050)
Box 12 No Sad Songs for Julie 1/4 inch tape - 2 track stereo (ID#: 013)
Box 15 No Sad Songs for Julie CD (ID#: 051)
Box 13 No Sad Songs for Julie 1971 1/4 inch tape - 2 track stereo (ID#: 014)
Box 13 No Sad Songs for Julie (Premier Performance by the Ithaca High School Wind Ensemble) 10 May 1973 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 015)
Box 13 No Sad Songs for Julie (Unites States Air Force Band) 1/4 inch tape - 2 track stereo (ID#: 016)
Box 13 Ode 1/4 inch tape - full track mono (ID#: 017)
Box 13 Ode 1965 1/4 inch tape - full track mono (ID#: 018)
Box 13 Ode and Concerto 1/4 inch tape - 4 track stereo (ID#: 019)
Box 13 Ode of Dedication 16 Oct 1965 1/4 inch tape - 2 track stereo (ID#: 020)
Box 13 Prelude in A Minor - Chorale and March 1/4 inch tape - 1 track mono (ID#: 021)
Box 13 Psalms Triptych 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 022)
Box 13 Reel No. 1 22 Oct 1966 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 023)
Box 13 Regional Composers Concert (Society for New Music Concert, Geneva NY) 1/4 inch tape - 2 sided (ID#: 024)
Box 13 Seventh Star of Paracelsus CD (ID#: 052)
Box 13 Seventh Star of Paracelsus (Hamilton College Chapel) 29 Sep 1979 1/4 inch tape - stereo (ID#: 025)
Box 13 Society for New Music Concert 28 Sep 1988 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 026)
Box 15 Some Summer Sun CD (ID#: 053)
Box 13 Sonatina for Violin and Orchestra (Festival of the Arts, Victor Central School) May 1964 1/4 inch tape - mono (ID#: 027)
Box 14 Sonoria No.1 1976 1/4 inch tape - 4 track stereo (ID#: 028)
Box 14 Spring Concert / The William Smith Singers and The Jazz-Lab Ensemble 18 May 1977 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 029)
Box 14 Spring Pops Concert 3 May 1966 1/4 inch tape - 4 track stereo (ID#: 030)
Box 14 String Quartet 1/4 inch tape - 2 track stereo (ID#: 031)
Box 14 String Quartet #3 (Manhattan String Quartet) 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 032)
Box 15 String Quartet No. 3 CD (ID#: 054)
Box 15 String Quartet No. 6 CD (ID#: 055)
Box 15 String Quartet No. 7 CD (ID#: 056)
Box 14 Symphony No. 3 (An Ode of Dedication) 1965-1966 1/4 inch tape - 4 track stereo (ID#: 033)
Box 14 Symphony No. 3 (An Ode of Dedication) (Bristol Gym, Hobart & William Smith Colleges) May 1972 1/4 inch tape - 4 track stereo (ID#: 034)
Box 14 Syracuse Society for New Music Concert (Geneva NY) 13 Mar 1984 1/4 inch tape - stereo (ID#: 035)
Box 14 Tape 1 performed 28 Oct 1960; recorded 16 Nov 1960 1/4 inch tape - stereo (ID#: 036)
Box 15 Time for Change CD, 4 tracks (ID#: 057)
Box 15 Time for Change CD, 28 tracks (ID#: 058)
Box 15 Time Passages for Piano CD, 1 track (ID#: 059)
Box 15 Time Passages for Piano CD, 2 tracks (ID#: 060)
Box 15 Trio Violin, Cello & Piano CD (ID#: 061)
Box 15 Various Actions for Wind Quintet CD (ID#: 062)
Box 15 Various Actions for Wind Quintet 16 Mar 1982 1/4 inch tape - stereo (ID#: 037)
Box 14 Voice of America 1966 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 038)
Box 15 Wind Quintet No. 2 CD (4 tracks) (ID#: 063)
Box 14 Woodwind Quintet No. 2 1963 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 039)
By others
Box 14 W. Nichols - Sve. Ann Steck (M. Chalker) 1/4 inch tape (ID#: 040)
Scores
By D'Angelo
Box 1 3 Miniatures for Wind Ensemble
Oversize 1 3 Miniatures for Wind Ensemble - oversize score
Oversize 1 9 Petite Figures for Flute, B-flat Clarinet and Bassoon
Box 1 American Dreams, Opaque Images for Viola and Piano
Oversize 1 American Dreams, Opaque Images for Viola and Piano - oversize score
Box 1 Among Other Voices…of Love for Wind Ensemble
Oversize 1 Among Other Voices…of Love for Wind Ensemble - oversize score, parts
Box 1 An Ode of Dedication for Solo Voices, Chorus, Organ, Harpsichord and Orchestra
Box 1 Ancient Forms, Functions and Spirit for Flute and Piano
Oversize 2 Ancient Forms, Functions and Spirit for Flute and Piano - oversize score
Box 1 Ancient Forms, Functions and Spirit No. 2 for Flute and Piano
Oversize 16 Ancient Forms, Functions and Spirit No. 2 for Flute and Piano - oversize score, proofs
Box 1 Bagatelles and Tangos for Piano
Box 1 Beyond the Other I (duo concertante) for Violin & Violoncello
Oversize 2 Beyond the Other I (duo concertante) for Violin & Violoncello - oversize score
Box 1 Brass Quintet No. 3
Oversize 2 Brass Quintet No. 3 - oversize score
Box 1 Brass Quintet No. 4
Oversize 2 Brass Quintet No. 4 - oversize score
Box 1 Bridges of Time for Wind Quintet
Oversize 2 Bridges of Time for Wind Quintet - oversize score, parts
Oversize 2 Capriccio and Improvisations for Alto Saxophone and Chamber Orchestra - oversize score, parts
Oversize 2 Capriccio and Improvisations for Alto Saxophone and Symphonic Band - oversize score
Box 1 Cask of Amontillado (an Opera in One Act)
See also Writings: By D'Angelo: Cask of Amontillado (lyrics)
Box 2 Celestial Three for Symphonic Band and Speaker (optional)
Oversize 3 Celestial Three for Symphonic Band and Speaker (optional) - oversize score
Oversize 16 Celestial Three for Symphonic Band and Speaker (optional) - oversize score
Oversize 3 Child's Prayer for Violoncello Quartet
Box 2 Chorale and Alleluia Four-Part Chorus of Mixed Voices (a cappella)
Box 2 Concerto for Orchestra (in one movement)
Oversize 3 Concerto for Orchestra (in one movement) - oversize score
Oversize 4 Concerto for Orchestra (in one movement) - oversize parts
Oversize 16 Concerto for Orchestra (in one movement) - oversize score
Box 2 Connotations Six for Piano
Oversize 3 Divertimento for Flute, B-flat Clarinet, Strings and Timpani - oversize score, parts, proof (reverse print)
Oversize 16 Dreams and Darkness for Wind Ensemble
Box 2 Echoes and Visions for Chamber Orchestra - Parts
Oversize 3 Echoes and Visions for Chamber Orchestra - oversize score
Oversize 16 Echoes and Visions for Chamber Orchestra - oversize score
Oversize 3 Echoes of Ancients for Solo Violin
Box 2 Echoes Six for Chorus and Wind Ensemble
Oversize 3 Echoes Six for Chorus and Wind Ensemble - oversize score, proof (oversize)
Box 2 Expectations for Mixed Chorus & Chamber Orchestra
Oversize 5 Expectations for Mixed Chorus & Chamber Orchestra - oversize score
Box 2 Fable and Dance for E-flat Alto Saxophone and Piano
Oversize 5 Fable and Dance for E-flat Alto Saxophone and Piano - oversize score
Oversize 5 Fantasy on Two Christmas Tunes - oversize score, proof (Oversize)
Oversize 5 Four Conversations for String Quartet
Oversize 5 Four Times Two Haiku of Basho for Soprano, Brass Ensemble and Percussion
Box 2 Hymn for Spacemen for Chorus and Brass Ensemble
Box 2 Hymn for Spacemen for Mixed Chorus and Organ
Oversize 5 Idyll for Violin, 'Cello and Piano
Box 2 Impressions Two for Band
Oversize 6 Impressions Two for Band - oversize score, parts
Box 2 Introduction and Fantasy for E-flat Alto Saxophone and Piano
Oversize 6 Introduction and Fantasy for E-flat Alto Saxophone and Piano - oversize score, part (for saxophone)
Box 3 Introduction and Seriate Variants for Wind Ensemble
Oversize 7 Introduction and Seriate Variants for Wind Ensemble - oversize score
Oversize 7 Jump for the Sun for Saxophone Quartet
Box 3 Kandinsky Variation for Piano
Oversize 7 Kandinsky Variation for Piano - oversize score
Box 3 Light that Fills the Void for Wind Quintet
Oversize 7 Light that Fills the Void for Wind Quintet - Score, parts
Box 3 Love's Labour's Won, Three Sonnets of Shakespeare for Soprano and Piano
Oversize 8 Love's Labour's Won, Three Sonnets of Shakespeare for Soprano and Piano - oversize score
Oversize 8 Mais Ces Oiseaux for High Voice, Flute, B-flat Clarinet, Bassoon and Piano - oversize score, proof
Oversize 8 Masks of Innocence for B-flat Clarinet and Piano
Box 3 Metaluna, and Beyond
Oversize 8 Miniature for Flute and Piano
Oversize 8 Mosaics for Flute, B-flat Bass Clarinet, Violin, 'Cello and Piano
Oversize 8 Mosaics for Violin, 'Cello, B-flat Clarinet, Bassoon and Piano
Oversize 8 National Guardian (Concert Marche)
Box 3 No Sad Songs for Julie for Wind Ensemble
Oversize 8 No Sad Songs for Julie for Wind Ensemble - oversize score, parts (incomplete)
Box 3 Of Voices and Winds for Concert Band and Chorus (S.A.T.B.) Three Songs of Love - Score + S.A.T.B./Piano Part
Oversize 9 Of Voices and Winds for Concert Band and Chorus (S.A.T.B.) Three Songs of Love - oversize score, parts (partial)
Oversize 9 Other Enchantments for Solo Violin
Box 3 Other Enchantments for Unaccompanied Violin
Box 3 Painted Words for Soprano and Piano
Box 4 Pastorale for Baritone Horn (Trombone Opt.) and Piano
Box 4 Prelude in A Minor for Orchestra
Oversize 9 Prelude in A Minor for Orchestra - oversize score
Box 4 Prelude, Chorale and March for Band (a Bicentennial Triptych)
Box 4 Psalms Triptych for Soprano, Chorus, Brass Ensemble, Percussion and Organ (optional)
Oversize 9 Psalms Triptych for Soprano, Chorus, Brass Ensemble, Percussion and Organ (optional) - oversize score
Oversize 9 Purple Lace - Draft score
Box 4 Quintet for Winds [No. 2]
Oversize 9 Quintet for Winds [No. 2] - oversize score
Box 4 Quintet for Winds No. 4
Oversize 9 Quintet for Winds No. 4 - Parts
Box 4 Seven Secrets Sublime for Chamber Orchestra
Box 4 Seventh Star of Paracelsus' for B-flat Clarinet, Violin, Cello and Piano
Oversize 10 Seventh Star of Paracelsus' for B-flat Clarinet, Violin, Cello and Piano - proof
Box 5 Sing a Song of Six for Mixed Chorus and Piano
Box 5 Six Figures for B-flat Clarinet and Piano
Oversize 10 Six Figures for B-flat Clarinet and Piano - oversize score
Box 5 Six Mobiles for Pirandello for Brass Quintet and Piano
Box 5 Some Summer Sun for Solo Flute
Oversize 10 Some Summer Sun for Solo Flute - oversize score
Box 5 Sonata for B-flat Clarinet and Piano
Oversize 10 Sonata for B-flat Clarinet and Piano - Part for clarinet
Box 5 Sonata for Violin and Piano (Beyond the Mirror)
Oversize 10 Sonata for Violin and Piano (Beyond the Mirror) - oversize score
Oversize 10 Sonatina for Violin and Orchestra - oversize score, proof
Box 5 Sonatina for Violin and Piano
Oversize 10 Sonatina for Violin and Piano - oversize score, proof
Box 5 Songs my Mother Never Sang to Me…and Other Stuff
Box 5 Songs…I Never Sang for My Father for Cantori
Box 6 Sonoria No. 1 for Tenor Solo, Chorus S.A.T.B., B-flat Clarinet and Piano
Oversize 11 Sonoria No. 1 for Tenor Solo, Chorus S.A.T.B., B-flat Clarinet and Piano - oversize score
Box 6 Sonoria No. 2 a Musical Drama in Three Acts for Soprano and Baritone Soloists, S.A.T.B., Chorus, Brass, Percussion, Harp and Piano
Oversize 16 Sonoria No. 2 a Musical Drama in Three Acts for Soprano and Baritone Soloists, S.A.T.B., Chorus, Brass, Percussion, Harp and Piano - oversize score
Oversize 11 Stanzas from Walt Whitmans Song of the Universal for Chorus (S.A.T.B.), Band, and Orchestra
Oversize 11 String Quartet No. 2 - Proof (reverse-print) of score and parts
Box 6 String Quartet No. 3
Oversize 11 String Quartet No. 3 (in one movement) - oversize score, parts
Box 6 String Quartet No. 4
Oversize 11 String Quartet No. 4 - oversize score
Oversize 16 String Quartet No. 5 Thus Speaks the Discoverer
Box 6 String Quartet No. 6 in Two Movements
Box 6 String Quartet No. 7 (Inferocire) in Two Movements
Oversize 11 String Quartet No. 7 (Inferocire) in Two Movements - oversize score
Box 6 String Quartet No. 8 (Music of Night with Moon)
Oversize 12 String Quartet No. 8 (Music of Night with Moon) - oversize score, parts
Oversize 12 String Quintet (Voices of Silence)
Box 7 Symphony No. 2 for Orchestra and Chorus (the Civil War)
Oversize 12 Symphony No. 2 for Orchestra and Chorus (the Civil War) - Proof (oversize)
Box 7 Symphony No. 3 An Ode of Dedication for Solo Voices, Chorus, Organ, Harpsichord and Orchestra
Oversize 12 Symphony No. 3 An Ode of Dedication for Solo Voices, Chorus, Organ, Harpsichord and Orchestra - oversize score, proof
Oversize 13 Symphony No. 4 - proof (parts only)
Box 7 Symphony No. 4 for Orchestra
Oversize 13 Symphony No. 6 (Temple of the Sky) for Symphonic Wind Ensemble
Oversize 13 Symphony No. 6 (Temple of the Sky) for Wind Ensemble
Oversize 13 Temples and Tombs - Proof (Oversize)
Box 7 Temples of the Sky for Symphonic Wind Ensemble
Box 7 Ten Birds of Brass for B-flat Trumpet, French Horn and Trombone
Oversize 13 Ten Birds of Brass for B-flat Trumpet, French Horn and Trombone - oversize score
Box 7 Things of Remembrance Past - Score + Parts
Oversize 13 Things of Remembrance Past - oversize score
Oversize 16 Things of Remembrance Past - oversize score
Box 7 Three Fantasies on Three Themes of Picasso
Oversize 13 Three Fantasies on Three Themes of Picasso - oversize score
Oversize 16 Thus Speaks the Discoverer or Chamber Orchestra
Box 8 Time After Time for Jazz Choir & Jazz Ensemble
Box 8 Time for Change for Flute and B-flat Clarinet
Oversize 14 Time for Change for Flute and B-flat Clarinet - oversize score
Box 8 Time Passages for Piano
Oversize 14 Time Passages for Piano - oversize score
Box 8 Trio for B-flat Clarinet, Viola, and Piano
Oversize 14 Trio for B-flat Clarinet, Viola, and Piano - oversize score, parts
Oversize 15 Trio for Violin, Cello, and Piano "Eight Notables" - oversize score
Oversize 16 Trio for Violin, Cello, and Piano "Eight Notables" - oversize score
Box 8 Two Three-Fours for Band I. Spiritual II. Slow Waltz
Oversize 15 Unicorns, Androsphinxes, Androgynes and Other Mystical Beasts - oversize score
Box 8 Variants for E-flat Alto Saxophone and Piano
Oversize 15 Variations on a Dorian Theme for Flute and Piano - oversize score
Box 8 Various Actions for Wind Quintet
Box 8 Visions of the Spirit for B-flat Clarinet, 'Cello and Piano
Oversize 15 Visions of the Spirit for B-flat Clarinet, 'Cello and Piano - oversize score
Oversize 15 Voices of Janus for Brass Quintet - oversize score
Box 8 Whispers of the Moon
Oversize 15 Whispers of the Moon - oversize score, parts
Oversize 16 Whispers of the Moon - oversize score
Oversize 17 [Incomplete fragments of works]
By others, title
Oversize 18 Sally [Mei Chun] Chen: Piece for String Quartet
Oversize 18 Richard Delaney: Four Songs, a Poem by Cesar Vallejo for Soprano and Two Cellos
Oversize 18 Debussy: Golliwogg's Cake-Walk (parts) (arr. Grofe)
Oversize 18 Paul Hindemith: Madrigales
Oversize 18 Burton Lane: Old Devil Moon (arr. by N. D'Angelo)
Oversize 18 Matt Malneck and Robert Maxwell: Shangri-La, a Modern Composition for Piano (parts arr. by N. D'Angelo)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Complete String Quartets with the Horn and Clarinet Quintets (Dover Study and Playing Editions)
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate this item.
By others, instrument
Oversize 19 Drum
Oversize 19 French Horn
Oversize 19 Saxophone (Alto)
Oversize 20 Saxophone (Alto 2)
Oversize 20 Saxophone (Baritone)
Oversize 21 Saxophone (Tenor)
Oversize 21 Saxophone (Tenor 2)
Oversize 22 Trombone 1
Oversize 22 Trombone 2
Oversize 23 Trombone 3
Oversize 23 Trombone 4
Oversize 23 Trombone 5/Tuba
Oversize 24 Trumpet 1
Oversize 24 Trumpet 2
Oversize 25 Trumpet 3
Oversize 25 Trumpet 4, 5
Writings
By D'Angelo
Box 9 The Arts in Western Society (2 copies)
Box 9 The Cask of Amontillado (opera lyrics)
See also Scores: By D'Angelo: Cask of Amontillado
Box 9 A Direct and Practical Approach to Harmonic Grammar (2 copies)
Box 9 Dissertation (D. Ed.) 1977 - part 1 is textual, part 2 is a concerto for orchestra; other copies of the concerto also exist in the collection (2 copies)
Box 10 Erwartung: An Example of Arnold Schoenberg's Response to the Expressionistic Movement
Box 10 The Hindemith Madrigale: An Analysis (2 copies)
Box 10 An Historical Survey of the Development of the Pre-Bach Cantata with Emphasis on Franz Tunder and Dietrich Buxtehude
Box 11 An Historical Survey of the Development of the Pre-Bach Cantata with Emphasis on Franz Tunder and Dietrich Buxtehude [2nd copy]
Box 11 Music in Western Civilization Part III: c. 1800-1900+ (2 copies)
Box 11 Proposal for Registration of a Program in Music Education
Box 11 Where it's Always Warm
By others
Box 11 Report of the Long Range Planning Task Force Mission and Curriculum for the Board of Trustees [of Hobart and William Smith Colleges]
Box 11 Typed pieces by Diane Stevenson