Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Asa Danforth Collection

An inventory collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 8 Mar 2017

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Title: Asa Danforth Collection
Dates: 1790-1824
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Correspondence, legal, and financial miscellany pertaining to Asa Danforth, early resident of Onondaga County, New York.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Asa Danforth (1746-1818) was one of the first settlers of Onondaga County in Central New York. He was a veteran of the American Revolution, having fought at the second Battle of Saratoga and attained the rank of major in the United States Army. As a civilian, he built a sawmill and engaged in salt production, and was actively involved in the fledgling regional goverment, serving as county judge in 1797 and as judge of the Court of Common Pleas.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Asa Danforth Collection consists of correspondence, legal, and financial miscellany pertaining to Asa Danforth, early resident of Onondaga County, New York.


Arrangement of the Collection

Chronological.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has Danforth material in other collections, and other collections relating to the early settlement and development of Onondaga County. Please search our collections to locate additional material.


Subject Headings

Persons

Danforth, Asa.

Places

Onondaga County (N.Y.) -- Commerce.
Onondaga County (N.Y.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Contracts.
Correspondence.
Indentures.
Receipts (financial records)

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Asa Danforth Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase; transfer from other collections.


Table of Contents

Papers


Inventory

Papers
SC 792 Miscellaneous 1790-1824