Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Leonard dal Negro Manuscripts

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Nov 2008

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: dal Negro, Leonard.
Title: Leonard dal Negro Manuscripts
Dates: circa 1930
Quantity: 4 folders (SC)
Abstract: Poems, plays, miscellaneous writings from the Portuguese Jew and anarchist writer.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Leonard dal Negro was a Portuguese Jew living in New York in the 1930s. He became an anarchist and published articles and criticism under the name "David Lawrence."


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Leonard dal Negro manuscripts consists of typescripts of plays, poems, short stories, and miscellaneous other writings. Sample titles include "Harlem Red," "Sidney Hook Visits Karl Marx in Heaven," and "Marx on Class Society." Many of the pages are annotated, presumably by the author.


Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is subdivided by type.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has considerable material related to radical writers of the 1920s through the 1960s. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a listing of manuscript collections and the Classic Catalog for a list of books, periodicals, and other published items.


Subject Headings

Persons

dal Negro, Leonard.

Subjects

Radicalism in literature.
Revolutionary literature, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Plays (document genres)
Poetry.
Typescripts.

Occupations

Author.
Poet.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Leonard dal Negro Manuscripts,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchase, 2008. Portions purchased from the Adah C. Blackman fund.


Table of Contents

Writings


Inventory

Writings
SC 269, Folder 1 Plays
SC 269, Folder 2 Poems
SC 269, Folder 3 Short stories
SC 269, Folder 4 Miscellaneous and fragments