Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Cyrus Dallin Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 25 Apr 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dallin, Cyrus E. (Cyrus Edwin), 1861-1944.
Title: Cyrus Dallin Collection
Dates: 1995
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: American sculptor. Collection contains an article about Dallin by Kent Ahren, along with photographs and slides of the artist's work.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Cyrus E. Dallin (1861-1944) was an American sculptor and teacher. He was an important figure an American sculpture and taught for more than forty years at the Massachusetts Normal Arts School (Massachusetts College of Art).


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Cyrus Dallin Collection contains the typescript of an essay by Kent Ahren about Dallin's war memorials, along with photographs and slides of the artist's work and one photocopied clipping.


Arrangement of the Collection

Clippings, essays and photographs, in that order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Dallin, Cyrus E. (Cyrus Edwin), 1861-1944.

Subjects

Sculptors -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Manuscripts (document genre)
Photographs.
Slides (photographs)

Occupations

Sculptors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Cyrus Dallin Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Kent Ahrens, 2003.


Table of Contents

Miscellaneous


Inventory

Miscellaneous
SC 465 One clipping, typescript of a paper, and several slides and photographs 1995, undated