Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Alexander J. Dallas Letter

A description of his letter at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 8 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Dallas, Alexander J. (Alexander James), 1791-1844.
Title: Alexander J. Dallas Letter
Dates: 1806
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: A letter enquiring about an abandoned ship, the Charming Sally.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The recipient of the letter was likely Alexander James Dallas (1791 -1844), an American Naval officer.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Alexander J. Dallas Letter is dated 19 March 1806, and was sent from Philadelphia. Possibly it was written by Peter Muhlenberg, who was the customs collection for the Port of Philadelphia at the time. The letter writer discusses an abandoned ship called the Charming Sally, asking Dallas "would it not be advisable, that the Marshal(?) should take her in custody, and sell her for the amount of the tonnage?" Dallas responds in a short note written at the bottom of the page.


Arrangement of the Collection

Single item.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Dallas, Alexander J. (Alexander James), 1791-1844.
Muhlenberg, John Peter Gabriel, 1746-1807.

Corporate Bodies

United States -- Navy -- Officers.

Subjects

Ships -- United States -- History -- 19th century.

Places

Philadelphia (Pa.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Alexander J. Dallas Letter,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 403 1806