Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Robert Cutler Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: MRC
Date: 5 Sep 2007

Revision history:
3 Jan 2017 photographs added (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Title: Robert Cutler Collection
Dates: 1946-1971
Quantity: 1 linear ft
Abstract: Two volumes of lectures, speeches and remarks by Robert Cutler, American architect, along with a considerable number of photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Robert W. Cutler (1905-1993) was an American architect and graduate of Syracuse University (1928). He practiced architecture in Manhattan for more than 40 years and was a partner in the well-known firm of Skidmore, Owings & Merrill. [Information taken from Cutler's obituary, New York Times, 12/19/1993.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Robert W. Cutler Collection consists of lectures/speeches and photographs.

Lectures and speeches contains two volumes of lectures, speeches, and remarks by Cutler. Subjects range over many aspects of architecture and include titles such as "Fitting Solar Orientation into an Economical Layout Without Involving Operating Extravagance" (1947), "Tomorrow's Hospital" (1948), "Weather and the Building Industry" (1949), "Modern Hospital Architecture" (1953), "Aluminum in Architecture" (1957), and "Blackouts of 1965, or, Niagara Fails" (1965).

Photographs contains more than 100 photographs of Cutler at various events, including speeches, lectures, dinners, awards ceremonies, and groundbreakings. Almost all of the photographs are undated; some have desriptive information handwritten or typed on the back. Other persons of note appearing in the photographs include architects Max Abramovitz, Julian Levi, Louis Skidmore ("Skid"), Slocum Kingsbury, Leon Chatelain, and Simon Breines, New York City Mayor Robert Wagner, and hotelier Conrad Hilton.


Arrangement of the Collection

Lectures and speeches are arranged chronologically. Photographs, most of which are undated, remain in original order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of a number of American architects. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.


Subject Headings

Persons

Abramovitz, Max, 1908-2004.
Cutler, Robert W., 1905-1993.
Skidmore, Louis, 1897-1962.
Wagner, Robert F. (Robert Ferdinand), 1910-1991.

Subjects

Architects and builders -- United States.
Architecture -- United States -- 20th century.

Genres and Forms

Lectures.
Photographs.
Remarks.
Speeches.

Occupations

Architects.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Robert Cutler Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Nicholas Adams, Vassar College Department of Art, 2006, 2016.


Table of Contents

Lectures and speeches

Photographs


Inventory

Lectures and speeches
Box 1 [Volume 1] 1946-1959
Box 1 [Volume 2] 1960-1971
Photographs
Box 2 Miscellaneous - luncheons, dinners, groundbreaking ceremonies, awards ceremonies, etc. (5 folders)