Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Jeremiah S. Custard Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: DMB
Date: 26 Oct 1978

Revision history:
9 Apr 2008 converted to EAD (MRC)

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Custard, Jeremiah S., 1862-1931.
Title: Jeremiah S. Custard Papers
Dates: 1879-1976
Quantity: 1 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the Methodist clergyman. Papers include diaries and pastoral records (1879-1931), including sermons; personal and church financial records (1899-1929); and a biographical sketch and genealogy by Mary and George Custard, 1976.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Jeremiah S. Custard (1862-1931) was an American Methodist clergyman. Born in Bartonsville, Monroe County, Pennsylvania, he attended public schools and then studied at the Collegiate Institute at Stroudsburg, and Fairview Academy. He was converted at eighteen years of age. On December 10, 1884, he married Miss Lizzie Shiffer of Hamilton, Jefferson County, Pa. He served as supply preacher eight years before joining the Wyoming Conference in 1894. His pastorates included: 1898-1900, Skinner's Eddy; 1901, Springville; 1902-03, Clark's Summit.

[Adapted from Chaffee, Amasa Franklin. History of the Wyoming Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church. New York: Eaton & Mains, 1904, page 309.]


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jeremiah S. Custard Papers are divided into three series: Biographical data, Diaries and pastoral records, and Financial records.

Biographical data contains a photocopied typescript of Custard's biography written in 1976 by Mary and George Custard as a college graduation present for their daughter Alice. The text includes photocopies of news clippings and photographs and a detailed genealogy of the Custard family.

Diaries and pastoral records includes pocketsized books arranged chronologically which trace Custard's career as a Methodist minister. Besides personal items, the books contain records of church membership, sermons delivered, pastoral acts (marriages, baptisms, funerals), financial statements, pastoral visits, etc.

The Financial records contain information on Custard's personal expenditures for insurance, housing, taxes, Christmas presents, music lessons, his children's education, food, fuel and utilities, etc. This series also contains an account book for the Summit Methodist Episcopal Church and parsonage debt subscription list (1904-1906).


Arrangement of the Collection

All series are arranged chronologically.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Custard family -- Genealogy.
Custard, Jeremiah S., 1862-1931.

Subjects

Clergy -- United States.
Methodist Church -- Clergy.

Genres and Forms

Account books.
Diaries.
Genealogies.
Sermons.

Occupations

Clergy.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jeremiah S. Custard Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gifts of several Custard family members, 1967-1978.


Table of Contents

Biographical data

Diaries and pastoral records

Financial records


Inventory

Biographical data
Box 1 "Through a Glass, Darkly: The Life and Times of Jeremiah S. Custard" 1976
Diaries and pastoral records
Box 1 1879-1881, 1884, 1889-1892
Box 1 1890, 1892, 1894-1899
Box 1 1900-1902
Box 1 1903-1905
Box 1 1905-1907
Box 1 1907-1911
Box 1 1911-1913
Box 1 1914-1916
Box 1 1916-1917
Box 1 1918-1919
Box 1 1920-1921
Box 1 1922-1923
Box 1 1924-1925
Box 1 1926-1927
Box 1 1928-1929
Box 2 1930-1931
Financial records
Box 2 1899-1929