Collection inventory


Finding Aids

Charles Curtis Letters

A description of his letters at Syracuse University


Finding aid created by: LMD
Date: 3 Mar 2010

Revision history:

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Curtis, Charles, 1860-1936.
Title: Charles Curtis Letters
Dates: 1921-1930
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: 2 typewritten letters by the United States Senator and Vice President.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Charles Curtis (1860-1936) was an American politician and Republican. He began his political career as a member of the House of Representatives for Kansas (1893-1907). Later, he was elected to the Senate (1907-1929), where he held many important offices including Majority Whip, Majority Leader, and President pro tempore. In 1929, he was elected Vice President under Herbert Hoover.


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Charles Curtis Letters contains two typewritten letters, one sent while Curtis was a Senator and one while he was Vice President. The first letter is dated 27 Apr 1921 and is written on United States Senate, Committee on Indian Affairs letterhead. It is addressed to W. R. Porter, Esq. of Jetmore, Kansas. In the letter, Curtis informs Porter that he will help Porter's mother with her pension claim.

The second letter is dated 7 Aug 1930 and is written on Vice President's Chamber letterhead. It is addressed to the Honorable Richard Yates of the House of Representatives. In the letter, Curtis declines an invitation sent by Yates as he cannot leave Washington while Congress is in session.

The collection also includes an undated photograph of Curtis taken by Harris & Ewing photographers.


Arrangement of the Collection

Items are in chronological order.


Restrictions

Access Restrictions: The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions: Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.


Subject Headings

Persons

Curtis, Charles, 1860-1936.

Subjects

Vice-Presidents -- United States -- Correspondence.

Places

Jetmore (Kan.) -- History.
Washington (D.C.) -- History.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Politicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Charles Curtis Letters,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries


Table of Contents

Correspondence


Inventory

Correspondence
SC 402 1921-1930 - also contains an undated photograph of Curtis